Report | Millwall U23s 3 Swansea City U23s 1

19th October 2021
Lincoln Mcfayden

Three late goals saw Swansea City Under-23s beaten 3-1 at Millwall in the Professional Development League.

The Swans led for the majority of the game, but three goals in the last six minutes snatched the three points for the Lions.

The Swans started the game brightly with narrow misses from distance by Daniel Williams and Dylan Morgan.

Jaden Forrester had the ball in the net after 13 minutes as got onto the end of Rio Campbell's pass, but that effort was ruled out by the offside flag.

Millwall had a good chance to break the deadlock just four minutes later via Seb Drozd, but his effort was parried by Nico Hansen.

But it was the Swans who took the lead - a great passing exchange found Dylan Morgan on the edge of the box and he slid a great ball across to Lincoln Mcfayden and he buried the effort into the bottom right.

Mcfayden almost had his second of the afternoon just before the break as a fantastic ball from Jacob Jones found the left wing-back in space, but his thunderous strike cannoned off the post.

Millwall came out with renewed energy in the second half but struggled to form any clear-cut chances.

Tyrese Briscoe went closest with a long-range effort, but it was easily held by Hansen, while Scott Butler went close to making it 2-0 late on, but his strong header from Jones’ corner dropped wide of the post.

But with six minutes left of the game, Millwall found an equaliser. A low cross found Briscoe in the box and his low effort hit the post and went in to make it 1-1.

With one minute left of normal time, Millwall found a winner. Jayden Davis’ looping free-kick from a seemingly impossible angle squeezed into the top corner.

To add insult to injury, Millwall were handed a penalty in stoppage time, with Davis converting for his second of the day with the final kick of the game.


Millwall: Jordan Gilmore, George Walker, Kai Garande, Arthur Penney, Chinwike Okoli (Alfie Allen, 45), Besart Topalloj (capt), Jayden Davis, Ben Thompson, Tyrese Briscoe, Sean O’Brien (Abdul Abdulmalik, 68), Seb Drozd.

Unused subs: Joe Wright, Kyle Smith.

Swansea City: Nico Hansen, Scott Butler, Jacob Jones, Ben Erickson (capt), Tivonge Rushesha, Lincoln Mcfayden, Azeem Abdulai, Daniel Williams, Rio Campbell (Adrian Akande, 76), Dylan Morgan (Joel Cotterill, 64), Jaden Forrester (Tarelle Whittaker, 30).

Unused subs: Ben Hughes, Harry Jones.