Team news | Brighton v Swansea City

22nd September
First team
Liam Walsh Southampton

Russell Martin makes nine changes to his starting XI as Swansea City take on Premier League side Brighton in the Carabao Cup third round at the The Amex Stadium (7.30pm).

From the team that claimed a dramatic draw at Luton Town last weekend, just two players from that starting XI remain - Rhys Williams and Liam Walsh.

That means Steven Benda returns between the sticks while Ben Cabango and Brandon Cooper join up with Williams in defence.

Joel Latibeaudiere, a scorer in the first-round win at Reading, operates the right wing-back slot while Jake Bidwell provides the threat on the opposite flank.

Korey Smith makes his first appearance since the opening-day defeat at Blackburn Rovers, and he's joined in midfield by Jay Fulton - who captains the Swans - and Walsh.

Liam Cullen and Morgan Whittaker, a hat-trick hero in the previous round win over Plymouth, are given opportunities to impress up front.

On the bench, Tivonge Rushesha makes his first appearance in a match day squad since last November's draw with Sheffield Wednesday in SA1.


Brighton: Jason Steele (capt), Tariq Lamptey, Ed Turns, Haydon Roberts, Dan Burn, Steven Alzate, Jakob Moder, Ennock Mwepu, Alexis Macallister, Aaron Connolly, Taylor Richards.

Subs: Marc Leonard, Pascal Gross, Jeremy Sarmiento, Jurgen Locadia, James Furlong, Oddell Offiah, Kjel Scherpen.

Swansea City: Steven Benda, Ben Cabango, Brandon Cooper, Rhys Williams, Joel Latibeaudiere, Jay Fulton (capt), Korey Smith, Liam Walsh, Jake Bidwell, Liam Cullen, Morgan Whittaker.

Subs: Lewis Webb, Tivonge Rushesa, Ethan Laird, Ryan Manning, Flynn Downes, Yan Dhanda, Joel Piroe.