Report: Swans 1 Crystal Palace 1

23rd December 2017
First team

Substitute Jordan Ayew’s fabulous equaliser cancelled out Luka Milivojevic’s penalty as Leon Britton's first game as Swansea City's caretaker boss ended in a 1-1 draw against Crystal Palace.

The Swans started brightly but struggled to create clear-cut chances despite showing plenty of endeavour.

Palace were always a threat on the counter, and Lukasz Fabianski pulled off an outstanding save to deny Andros Townsend after he cut inside from the left in the opening 10 minutes.

Brave defending from captain Federico Fernandez saw the Argentine keep the scores level with a last-ditch header to deny Wilfried Zaha before the break.

But after Fernandez was adjudged to have tripped Ruben Loftus-Cheek in the 55th minute, Milivojevic drilled past Fabianski to give Palace the lead.

The goal sparked a response from the Swans, as Tammy Abraham fired wide before Narsingh fed the striker only for Speroni to save his effort.

But Britton's men got back on level terms in the 77th minute thanks to a superb Ayew strike which raised the roof at the Liberty Stadium. 

Fast feet from substitute Ayew saw him find space, and he then unleashed a fierce shot which arrowed into the corner of the net.

It almost got better minutes later as Ayew cut inside from the left only to see his shot from outside the box sail a whisker wide of goal.

The Swans had the better of the closing minutes with Abraham closed to delivering all three points, but they had to settle for a draw.

Swans: Lukasz Fabianski, Kyle Naughton (Angel Rangel 79), Alfie Mawson, Federico Fernandez (capt), Martin Olsson, Roque Mesa (Jay Fulton 88), Tom Carroll, Sam Clucas, Luciano Narsingh (Jordan Ayew 66), Nathan Dyer, Tammy Abraham.

Subs not used: Kristoffer Nordfeldt, Mike van der Hoorn, Renato Sanches, Oli McBurnie.

Crystal Palace: Julian Speroni, Martin Kelly, Scott Dann (capt), James Tomkins, Jeffrey Schlupp, James McArthur, Luka Milivojevic, Yohan Cabaye (Bakary Sako 76), Andros Townsend (Patrick van Aanholt 85), Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Wilfried Zaha. 

Subs not used: Wayne Hennessey, Pape Souare, Timothy Fosu-Mensah, Jason Puncheon, Jairo Riedewald.