Report | Swansea City Ladies 0 Abergavenny Women 0

31st May 2021
Swansea City Ladies champions

Swansea City Ladies retained the Welsh Premier Women’s League title after a goalless stalemate with Abergavenny provided the point needed to complete a league and cup double.

Prior to kick-off the Swans knew they had to avoid defeat to leapfrog Cardiff Met and claim the crown for the second season in a row..

The champions had the better of a tight first half but were unable to manufacture any clear-cut opportunities.

In the second half Emma Beynon’s penalty was saved by Zara Pernalete, and Shaunna Jenkins saw her header cleared off the line, but another clean sheet for Colin Staples' side ensured those missed opportunities were not costly.

Swansea enjoyed the majority of the possession in the opening stages but Abergavenny limited the home side to half-chances from distance.

Katy Hosford posed a threat after her cross found Stacey John-Davis at the near post, but the striker was unable to turn her header on target.

The second-half continued in a similar fashion as the first with the Swans continuing to stay in control of possession.

And the Swans were awarded a golden chance to grab the opener as Laura Davies was taken down in the box and a penalty was awarded.

However, Pernalete was quick to react and made the save to deny Beynon from the penalty spot.

Pernalete was in fine form for Aber and she kept the score level as she reacted quickly to drop to down to her right to parry Hosford’s effort from the edge of the box.

Substitute Chloe Chivers looked to make an immediate impact upon her introduction from the bench as she released a shot from the edge of the area, but it whistled over the crossbar.

Swansea came agonisingly close to grabbing the winner with five minutes left but Jenkins’ header was cleared off the line by Megan Jones.

It ensured the game ended goalless, and the final whistle brought celebrations for the Swans as it secured another WPWL title.

Swansea City Ladies:  Claire Skinner, Ellie Lake, Shaunna Jenkins, Alicia Powe (captain), Ria Hughes, Tija Richardson, Emma Beynon, Laura Davies (Chloe Chivers 62), Kelly Adams, Katy Hosford, Stacey John-Davis.

Subs not used: Gemma Border, Nieve Jenkins, Kate Searle, Kelsey Thomas, Jess Williams, Chloe Tiley.

Abergavenny: Zara Pernalete, Megan Jones, Elena Scrivens, Jessica Bennett, Olivia Barnes (Caitlin Davies 67), Sian Bull, Ceri Hudson (captain), Lyndsey Davies, Eliza Atkins (Ffion David 75), Lauren Boyd, Amy Williams.