Swansea City crest

Swansea City confirm retained list

4th June 2021

Swansea City can confirm its retained list following the end of the 2020-21 season.

Andre Ayew, Kieron Freeman, Declan John and Barrie McKay have seen their contracts come to an end and will depart the Liberty Stadium.

Ayew has been the club’s top scorer for the past two seasons, amassing 35 goals since returning from a loan spell at Fenerbahce.

Freeman joined the Swans from Swindon back in January but made just one appearance in the FA Cup defeat to Manchester City, while both Declan John and Barrie McKay have spent time on loan with Bolton and Fleetwood respectively during the course of the 2020-21 season.

The club, meanwhile, has offered a new one-year deal to long-serving forward Wayne Routledge as he continues his recovery from knee surgery.

The 36-year-old – who has been at the Liberty for 10 years and amassed over 300 appearances – was ruled out of the play-off final with the injury.

Meanwhile, second-year scholars Scott Butler and Michael Murphy have been offered their first professional contracts following their performances for the under-23 and under-18 sides in recent seasons.

Butler has captained the under-18s throughout the recent campaign, and has featured for the under-23s on several occasions.

Murphy, who has progressed through the club’s academy ranks, was a regular in the under-18 side as well as stepping up to the under-23 squad during the past season.

Ali Al-Hamadi, Jacob Jones and Jamie Searle have all been offered fresh terms.

In addition, six academy players - Geoff Bony, Josh Carey, Joel Cotterill, Ben Lloyd, Jada Mawongo and Evan Watts - have been offered two-year scholarships with the club.

In the academy ranks Ryan Bevan, Matthew Blake, Bradley Gibbings, Jordi Govea, Alex Rutter and Jake Thomas have all left the club.

Everyone at Swansea City wishes them well in their future careers.

Retained: Adrian Akande, Steven Benda, Ryan Bennett, Jake Bidwell, George Byers, Ben Cabango, Rio Campbell, Brandon Cooper, Ollie Cooper, Liam Cullen, Yan Dhanda, Cameron Evans, Jay Fulton, Jordon Garrick, Josh Gould, Matt Grimes, Ben Hamer, Harry Jones, Joel Latibeaudiere, Jamal Lowe, Ryan Manning, Lincoln McFayden, Kyle Naughton, Connor Roberts, Tivonge Rushesha, Korey Smith, Josh Thomas, Lewis Webb, Morgan Whittaker, Daniel Williams.