Team news | Middlesbrough v Swansea City

20th June 2020
First team
Hull Ben Wilmot

Ben Wilmot and Connor Roberts return to the Swansea City starting line-up as head coach Steve Cooper makes two changes for the resumption of Championship action at Middlesbrough.

Wilmot and Roberts are the two changes from the goalless draw against West Brom back in March, with Joe Rodon and Kyle Naughton the men to miss out.

Rodon has picked up a quad strain but is expected to be fit for next weekend's meeting with Luton, while Naughton has passed a late fitness test on an ankle knock to take a place on the nine-man bench.

That means Freddie Woodman continues in goal with Roberts and Wilmot joining Ben Cabango and Jake Bidwell in the Swansea back four.

Jay Fulton and captain Matt Grimes continue together at the base of the midfield, with Aldo Kalulu, Conor Gallagher and Andre Ayew operating ahead of them.

Rhian Brewster, who has scored three of his four Swansea goals away from home, leads the line for the visitors at the Riverside Stadium.


Middlesbrough: Dejan Stojanovic, Paddy McNair, Ryan Shotton, Lukas Nmecha, Dael Fry, Lewis Wing, Jonny Howson, Rudy Gestede, George Friend (captain), Hayden Coulson, Adam Clayton.

Substitutes: Aynsley Pears, Marcus Tavernier, Ravel Morrison, Marvin Johnson, Djed Spence, Britt Assombalonga, George Saville, Ashley Fletcher, Patrick Roberts.

Swansea City: Freddie Woodman; Connor Roberts, Ben Cabango, Ben Wilmot, Jake Bidwell; Jay Fulton, Matt Grimes (captain); Aldo Kalulu, Conor Gallagher, Andre Ayew; Rhian Brewster.

Substitutes: Erwin Mulder, Marc Guehi, Kyle Naughton, George Byers, Yan Dhanda, Nathan Dyer, Wayne Routledge, Jordon Garrick, Bersant Celina.