Team news | Reading v Swansea City

27th December
First team
Joe Allen close up v Norwich City

Joe Allen makes his first Swansea City start since September 17 as one of four changes for the Championship fixture at Reading.

Allen comes into the Swansea midfield, with Harry Darling, Matty Sorinola and Ollie Cooper also handed starting roles at the Select Car Leasing Stadium.

Kyle Naughton, Joel Latibeaudiere and Jamie Paterson drop to the bench, while Olivier Ntcham misses out on the matchday squad.

Steven Benda continues in goal, with Darling joining Nathan Wood and Ben Cabango in Swansea’s defence.

Ryan Manning and Sorinola are the wing-backs, while Allen joins captain Matt Grimes in midfield.

Cooper and Jay Fulton will provide support to Joel Piroe in the final third.

Reading: Joe Lumley, Andy Carroll, Tom Holmes, Tom McIntyre, Jeff Hendrick, Tom Ince, Yakou Meite, Andy Yiadom (captain), Mamadou Loum, Junior Hoilett, Naby Sarr.

Substitutes: Dean Bouzanis, Shane Long, Lucas Joao, Baba Rahman, Femi Azeez, Nesta Guinness Walker, Amadou Mbengue.

Swansea City: Steven Benda; Nathan Wood, Harry Darling, Ben Cabango; Matty Sorinola, Joe Allen, Matt Grimes (captain), Ryan Manning; Jay Fulton, Ollie Cooper; Joel Piroe.

Substitutes: Andy Fisher, Jamie Paterson, Luke Cundle, Liam Cullen, Armstrong Oko-Flex, Joel Latibeaudiere, Kyle Naughton.