Team news | Rotherham United v Swansea City

30th July 2022
First team
Charlton Harry Darling

Harry Darling, Nathan Wood and Matty Sorinola make their Swansea City debuts in this afternoon’s Championship opener at Rotherham.

The trio of summer signings are all named in Russell Martin’s starting line-up against the Millers, with fellow new arrival Joe Allen missing out through injury.

Andy Fisher starts in goal, with Wood and Darling joining Kyle Naughton in a three-man defence.

Joel Latibeaudiere and Sorinola occupy the wing-back slots, with skipper Matt Grimes and Jay Fulton in midfield.

Joel Piroe and Jamie Paterson will support Michael Obafemi in attack for the visitors, while Ben Cabango is named on the bench after recovering from an ankle injury.

Rotherham United: Viktor Johansson, Wes Harding, Dan Barlaser, Richard Wood (captain), Ben Wiles, Chiedozie Ogbene, Conor Washington, Jamie Lindsay, Shane Ferguson, Grant Hall, Cam Humphreys.

Substitutes: Josh Vickers, Cohen Bramall, Jamie McCart, Georgie Kelly, Scott High, Hakeem Odoffin, Peter Kioso.

Swansea City: Andy Fisher; Nathan Wood, Kyle Naughton, Harry Darling; Joel Latibeaudiere, Jay Fulton, Matt Grimes (captain), Matty Sorinola; Joel Piroe, Jamie Paterson, Michael Obafemi.

Substitutes: Steven Benda, Ryan Manning, Ben Cabango, Ollie Cooper, Olivier Ntcham, Liam Cullen, Cameron Congreve.