Team news | Swansea City v Plymouth Argyle

24th August 2021
First team
Forest Green Ben Hamer

Ben Hamer makes his Swansea City debut as one of seven changes for tonight’s Carabao Cup clash against Plymouth Argyle.

Goalkeeper Hamer is handed a first competitive appearance since his January move from Huddersfield, with Ryan Bennett returning to the side as captain after recovering from a positive Covid test.

Kyle Joseph, Dan Williams, Yan Dhanda, Morgan Whittaker and Jamal Lowe are the other changes from Friday’s win at Bristol City.

Steven Benda, Brandon Cooper, Ethan Laird, Matt Grimes, Jamie Paterson, Liam Cullen and Joel Piroe are the players to drop out of the side, while Kyle Naughton is named among the substitutes.

Hamer is in goal, with Ryan Manning, Bennett and Joel Latibeaudiere making up a back three.

Joseph and Jake Bidwell are the wing-backs, with Williams partnering Jay Fulton in midfield.

Dhanda is expected to operate as a number 10, with Lowe and Whittaker leading the line for the Swans.

Swansea City: Ben Hamer; Joel Latibeaudiere, Ryan Bennett (captain), Ryan Manning; Kyle Joseph, Jay Fulton, Dan Williams, Jake Bidwell; Yan Dhanda; Jamal Lowe, Morgan Whittaker.

Substitutes: Lewis Webb, Brandon Cooper, Joel Piroe, Liam Cullen, Kyle Naughton, Ethan Laird, Ollie Cooper.

Plymouth Argyle: Callum Burton, Macaulay Gillsephey, Dan Scarr, Ryan Broom, Joe Edwards (captain), Ryan Hardie, Adam Randell, Ryan Law, Panutche Camara, Luke Jephcott, Ollie Tomlinson.

Substitutes: Michael Cooper, Jordan Houghton, Brendan Galloway, George Cooper, Finley Craske, Ethan Mitchell, Rhys Shirley.