Team news | Swansea City v Southampton

31st July 2021
First team
Plymouth Liam Cullen

First-team coach Alan Tate makes three changes to the starting line-up for Swansea City’s final pre-season friendly against Southampton at the Liberty Stadium.

Steven Benda, Liam Cullen and Morgan Whittaker are the players to come into the side, having been on the bench for the midweek win at Forest Green Rovers.

Ben Hamer, Ollie Cooper and Joel Piroe drop to the bench in their place.

You can download today's official team sheet HERE.

Benda starts between the sticks with Kyle Naughton, Ryan Bennett, Ben Cabango and Jake Bidwell making up the back four; Bennett is once again handed the captaincy.

Korey Smith, Liam Walsh and Yan Dhanda retain their spots in midfield, with Walsh set to make his first home appearance since joining the club.

Jamal Lowe and Whittaker are set to occupy the wide channels, with Cullen leading the line for the Swans.

As was the case in midweek, there is a youthful look to the Swansea bench with Scott Butler, Lincoln McFayden, Dan Williams and Ben Lloyd among the substitutes.

Lloyd marked his first outing for the senior side by scoring the winner with his first touches after coming on from the bench at Forest Green.

Matt Grimes misses out through injury, while Jay Fulton, Ryan Manning, Ben Margetson and Lewis Webb are continuing to self-isolate following positive tests for Covid-19.

Swansea City: Steven Benda; Kyle Naughton, Ryan Bennett (captain), Ben Cabango, Jake Bidwell; Korey Smith, Liam Walsh, Yan Dhanda; Morgan Whittaker, Liam Cullen, Jamal Lowe.

Substitutes: Ben Hamer, Joel Piroe, Kyle Joseph, Ollie Cooper, Scott Butler, Lincoln McFayden, Ben Lloyd, Dan Williams.

Southampton: Alex McCarthy; Kyle Walker-Peters, Oriol Romeu (captain), Shane Long, Che Adams, Nathan Redmond, Stuart Armstrong, Moussa Djenepo, Mohamed Salisu, Nathan Tella. Jan Bednarek.

Substitutes: Jack Stephens, Danny Ings, Michael Obafemi, Romain Perraud, Yan Valery, Mohamed Elyounoussi, Ibrahima Diallo, Theo Walcott, Harry Lewis, Oludare Olufunwa, Fraser Forster, Ryan Finnigan.