Team news | Watford v Swansea City

24th September 2019
First team
Matt Grimes

Swansea City boss Steve Cooper made eight changes to his side for the Carabao Cup third-round tie at Watford.

Mike van der Hoorn, George Byers and captain Matt Grimes all retained their places from the weekend draw at Bristol City.

But there were changes elsewhere, starting with Kristoffer Nordfeldt between the sticks behind a back four of Connor Roberts, van der Hoorn, Ben Cabango and Declan John.

Byers – against his old club - and Grimes pair up in midfield behind a trio of Kristoffer Peterson, Yan Dhanda and Nathan Dyer.

Sam Surridge is tasked with leading the line.

Watford: Heurelho Gomes, Daryl Janmaat, Sebastian Prodl, Christian Kabasele, Adam Masina, Abdoulaye Doucoure, Nathaniel Chalobah, Domingos Quina, Roberto Pereyra, Danny Welbeck, Andre Gray.

Subs: Daniel Bachmann, Craig Dawson, Tom Cleverley, Tom Dele-Bashiru, Dimitri Foulquier, Gerard Deulofeu, Ismaila Sarr.

Swansea City: Kristoffer Nordfeldt; Connor Roberts, Mike van der Hoorn, Ben Cabango, Declan John; George Byers, Matt Grimes; Nathan Dyer, Yan Dhanda, Kristoffer Peterson; Sam Surridge.

Subs: Erwin Mulder, Brandon Cooper, Tom Carroll, Barrie McKay, Jordon Garrick, Wayne Routledge, Borja Baston.