PL Kicks photo

Premier League Kicks

Swansea City AFC Foundation's PL Kicks initiative is a national programme that uses the power of football and sport to regularly engage children and young people of all backgrounds and abilities in football, sport and personal development – providing a trusted, positive influence in high-need areas.

The project delivers free weekly sessions, giving young people aged 8-18 across South, West & Mid Wales the opportunities to play in football activities, whilst young people aged 16-25 have the opportunity to become volunteer officials or coaches.

Although the immediate emphasis of the programme is football, the Foundation coaches work in partnership with other local organisations to support young people with the challenges they face in their day-to-day lives and improve safety and community cohesion for their local neighbourhood.  

We work in partnership with Police Crime Commissioners, the South Wales Police, Dyfed-Powys Police, Youth Services, local councils, schools and other sports providers.

Highlights of the programme:

  • Over 1,500 participants engaged per year
  • New 3 Year partnership with Dyfed-Powys Police Crime Commissioner to deliver ongoing sessions in Seaside area of Llanelli, Pembroke Dock, Aberystwyth, Carmarthen & Newtown
  • Educate young people in workshops by addressing topics from youth violence and knife crime to equality and inclusion 
  • Take part in social action projects, which provide young people the opportunity to give something back to their community
  • Opportunities to represent Swansea City in local and national competitions, including the annual Premier League Kicks Cup
  • 20 per cent of the coaching and delivery staff are former participants
  • Combatting holiday hunger by enabling children aged 8-16 to receive nutritious meals and take part in fun activities at Kicks holiday camps

 Our current 2023/24 Kicks sessions are taking place at the following venues:

  • Aberystwyth (Aberystwyth Town 3G)
  • Blaenymaes (MUGA)
  • Carmarthen (Carmarthen Town 3G)
  • Cefn Saeson (Cefn Saeson Comp School Astrotruf)
  • Llwynhendy (MUGA)
  • Morriston (Morriston Leisure Centre 3G)
  • Newtown (Maldwyn Leisure Centre Astroturf)
  • Pembroke (Ysgol Harri Tudur 3G)
  • Seaside (Ysgol Pen Rhos 3G)
  • Townhill (Phoenix Centre Astroturf)

To sign up to your preferred session, click HERE

To find out more, please email