14/04/2012 14:00 v Blackburn

30th May 2018
First team

The Swans got back to winning ways in style with a commanding 3-0 victory over Blackburn Rovers at the Liberty.

Gylfi Sigurdsson and Nathan Dyer were on target for Brendan Rodgers’ side before Scott Dann’s own-goal put the contest beyond any doubt in SA1.

Both sides came into the match off the back of four consecutive defeats, but the Swans started the stronger as they managed to recapture their trademark passing style that had eluded them in recent weeks.

They took the lead in the 37th minute when Sigurdsson collected Joe Allen’s cross on the corner of the penalty area before curling into the top corner beyond the helpless Paul Robinson.

The goalkeeper came to Rovers’ rescue soon after to deny Danny Graham following a poor pass by Steven N’Zonzi that presented the opportunity on a plate.

But there was nothing he could do as the Swans doubled their advantage before half-time. Dann failed to clear Neil Taylor’s cross; allowing Scott Sinclair and Graham to set up Dyer to make it 2-0.

Sinclair was instrumental in the Swans’ third goal on 63 minutes as he skipped past three defenders before finding Sigurdsson, who hit the post from two yards out only to see the ball ricochet over the line off Dann.

Robinson made great saves to deny Sinclair and substitute Leroy Lita from compounding the misery further, but the damage had already been done with the Swans all but securing their Premier League status on 42 points.

SWANS: Michel Vorm, Angel Rangel (Garry Monk, 89), Steven Caulker, Ashley Williams, Neil Taylor, Joe Allen, Leon Britton (Mark Gower, 69), Gylfi Sigurdsson, Nathan Dyer, Danny Graham (Leroy Lita, 85), Scott Sinclair.

SUBS NOT USED: Gerhard Tremmel, Josh McEachran, Wayne Routledge, Luke Moore.

BLACKBURN ROVERS: Paul Robinson, Grant Hanley (Mauro Formica, 46), Scott Dann, Bradley Orr, David Dunn, Jason Lowe, Steven N’Zonzi, Marcus Olsson, Morten Gamst Pedersen, Junior Hoilett (Anthony Modeste, 55), Yakubu (David Goodwillie, 61).

SUBS NOT USED: Jake Kean, Martin Olsson, Radosav Petrovic, Ruben Rochina.