Officials got it wrong - Lamah

9th March 2013

Frustrated winger Roland Lamah believes the officials got it wrong at The Hawthorns as he was forced to wait for his first goal in a Swansea City shirt.

The Osasuna loan signing had his late effort wrongly ruled out for offside as West Brom emerged 2-1 winners.

The Swans had taken a first-half lead through striker Luke Moore only for Romelu Lukaku to level before the break.

Michel Vorm saved a penalty from Lukaku before an unfortunate own goal from Jonathan de Guzman gave the Baggies the lead.

Lamah thought he had grabbed a deserved equaliser after coming off the bench only for referee Lee Mason to rule out his effort for offside, despite the ball clearly rebounding to him off first West Brom's Gareth McAuley and then goalkeeper Ben Foster.

"I think I am onside,'' declared the Belgian international in broken English afterwards. "I think the referee got it wrong.

"I said to the ref I am onside, only this, but that's his decision and I have to accept it.

"I thought I had scored my first Swansea goal, but maybe next week.

"West Brom are a strong side, but the 2-1 scoreline is not good for us. But that's football and next week we are at home (Arsenal) and we must try to win again.''

Even Baggies boss Steve Clarke admitted the officials got it wrong.

"We got a lucky break," he said. "It definitely should have been given. It was a goal.

"I think it came off Ben Foster last so that was fortuitous. But sometimes when you put in the effort, the energy and the quality that we put into that game you earn that little break, especially against a team with the quality of Swansea."