Report | Ipswich Town U18s 1 Swansea City U18s 1

5th May
Joel Cotterill

Joel Cotterill’s last-gasp penalty rescued a hard-earned point for Swansea City Under-18s in their Professional Development League encounter with Ipswich Town.

Following back-to-back defeats, Byron Anthony’s side produced a solid all-round display against the FA Youth Cup semi-finalists at St George’s Park.

They were unfortunate to fall behind on the hour-mark as Ipswich capitalised on their first real lapse in concentration.

But the young Swans demonstrated tremendous resilience and reaped their rewards in the dying moments, as Cotterill tucked away from the penalty spot after substitute Sebastian Dabrowski was fouled in the box.

Anthony made five changes from the weekend loss at home to Sheffield Wednesday.

Tyler Evans replaced Alex Rutter in goal with Dan Watts and Panashe Makokowe coming into defence, while there were also starts for Morgan Clarke and Aaron Hillier further up the field.

Watts was one of four under-16s who started for the young Swans, while Evans and Hillier were among five first-year pros in from the beginning.

Despite losing Clarke and Cameron Congreve – to quad and knee injuries respectively – before half-time, the designated visitors more than held their own against Ipswich.

Anthony’s side looked dangerous on the front foot, while demonstrating brilliant desire with a high press to keep the hosts at bay.

But they fell behind in the 60th minute after being caught out by a long diagonal ball, which culminated in their striker finishing after Evans had parried an initial shot directly into his path.

To their credit, the Swans did not let their heads drop and continued to plug away in search of an equaliser.

And it arrived in the final minute of regulation time as Cotterill made no mistake from 12 yards after Dabrowksi was brought down in the penalty area.

Swans U18s: Tyler Evans; Dan Watts, Panashe Makokowe, Ryan Bassett, Cian Williams; Morgan Clarke (Adnaan Moti, 30), Joel Cotterill, Cameron Congreve (Iwan Morgan, 42); Aaron Hillier, Geoff Bony (Sebastian Dabrowski, 65), Ben Lloyd.

Subs not used: Josh Hutchings.