Report: Manchester City 5 Swans 0

22nd April 2018
First team

Swansea City were swept aside by the Premier League champions as Manchester City claimed a 5-0 win over Carlos Carvalhal's team.

The Swans were ruthlessly taken apart by Pep Guardiola's star-studded team, who took their points tally to 90 for the campaign.

The hosts raced on to the front foot and controlled the majority of possession and territory in the opening 10 minutes.

Manchester City made the pressure count and took the lead in the 12th minute when Raheem Sterling’s pass found David Silva inside the area and he fired into the far corner.

There was more bad news for the Swans four minutes later as Fabian Delph turned provider for Sterling to tap home from close range.

The home side continued to attack but solid saves from Lukasz Fabianski kept out Bernardo Silva and Gabriel Jesus.

Alfie Mawson tested Ederson with a low shot just before the break but the Brazilian keeper was equal to the effort.

Manchester City continued their dominance after the break as Kevin De Bruyne made the most of a loose ball to rifle home a stunning 25-yard strike past Lukasz Fabianski to make it 3-0.

Guardiola's men netted a fourth after Ferderico Fernandez was adjudged to have brought down Sterling in the box.

Fabianski did well to nudge Gabriel Jesus’ spot-kick onto the post but the Polish keeper could not keep out Bernardo Silva’s follow up.

Fabianski then saved Jesus’ powerful header from six yards inside the final 10 minutes with a solid stop but the striker was not to be denied as he nodded in late on.

Defeat left the Swans on 34 points - four clear of Southampton and Stoke, with Carvalhal's side boasting a game in hand over the Potters.

Manchester City: Ederson, Danilo, Vincent Kompany (capt), Raheem Sterling (Phil Foden, 71), Ilkay Gundogan, Aymeric Laporte, Kevin De Bruyne (Yaya Toure, 65), Fabian Delph (Benjamin Mendy, 75), Bernardo Silva, David Silva, Gabriel Jesus.

Subs not used: Claudio Bravo, Kyle Walker, Leroy Sane, Nicolas Otamendi.

Swans: Lukasz Fabianski, Ki Sung-Yueng (Sam Clucas, 65), Mike van der Hoorn, Alfie Mawson, Tom Carroll, Martin Olsson (Tammy Abraham, 75), Jordan Ayew, Andre Ayew, Andy King, Kyle Naughton, Federico Fernandez (capt,Kyle Bartley, 67).

Subs not used: Kristoffer Nordfeldt, Nathan Dyer, Wayne Routledge, Connor Roberts.