Report | Swansea City U23s 0 Ipswich Town U23s 3

4th October
Ben Margetson

Swansea Under-23s were handed their first home defeat of the season as they were beaten by Ipswich Town in their Professional Development League encounter.

After starting the season with a win and a draw on home turf, the Swans were on the losing end of the scoreline thanks to goals from Fraser Alexander, Tete Yengi and Harley Curtis.

A youthful Swans side, including 16-year-olds Ben Lloyd and Joel Cotterill, plus a number of other teenagers battled hard but were unable to haul themselves back into the game.

There was also valuable game-time for Tivonge Rushesha as the defender continues his return from a long-term knee injury.

Ipswich had started the game on the front foot, Tawanda Chirewa’s run through the Swansea defence early causing trouble before he dragged his shot wide.

Swansea grew into the game, with Tarrelle Whittaker and Dylan Morgan proving their main attacking outlets.

But it was the visitors who took the lead. Swansea goalkeeper Nico Defreitas-Hansen did well to save Bailey Clements’ low shot, but Alexander managed to turn the save into the back of the net in the six-yard box.

Yengi doubled Ipswich’s lead just 10 minutes later, his great touch from Edwin Agbase’s long ball allowing him to cut in onto his left foot and curl his shot into the bottom left corner.

The Swans' struggles continued into the second half, with Curtis making it 3-0 just after the break. A good ball across the box found the winger in space and he picked out the bottom corner.

Swansea continued to fight but struggled to find a breakthrough. Morgan flashed a great cross in the six-yard box that Jaden Forrester couldn’t quite meet.

Ben Margetson thought he had pulled one back for Swansea, converting a great header from Morgan’s free-kick, but the linesman ruled the defender offside.

Swansea City: Nico Defreitas-Hansen, Tivonge Rushesha, Lincoln Mcfayden, Azeem Abdulai, Scott Butler (captain), Ben Margetson, Joel Cotterill (Rio Campbell, 45), Ben Lloyd (Jacob Jones, 75), Jaden Forrester, Tarrelle Whittaker, Dylan Morgan.

Unused Substitutes: Ben Erickson, Jamie Searle, Adrian Akande.

Ipswich Town: Bert White, Edwin Agbase, Ross Crane, Matt Healy, Bailey Clements, Elkan Baggot (captain), Harley Curtis, Fraser Alexander, Ben Morris, Tawanda Chirewa (Zak Bradshaw 72), Tete Yengi (Ola Bello 72).