Ryan Manning wins Swansea City Player of the Season award

3rd May
Ryan Manning award

Ryan Manning has been named Swansea City Supporters’ Player of the Season for the 2022-23 campaign at the club’s annual awards dinner.

The Republic of Ireland international has enjoyed an outstanding campaign, scoring five goals and contributing nine assists.

No Championship player has created more clear chances than Manning, and his exploits saw him come out on top in our supporter vote via the club’s website and social media channels.

Jessica Williams, meanwhile, received the Supporters’ Player of the Season award for Swansea City Ladies after the defender delivered a series of consistently excellent performances during what has been a transitional season for Ceri Phillips’ side.

Like Piroe, Chivers also scooped the top goalscorer prize after netting 20 goals in all competitions.

When it came to the top goalscorer awards, Joel Piroe again led the way for the men’s side having netted 19 goals so far this term with the Dutchman enjoying another fine season in Swans colours.

The Ladies award was shared between Stacey John-Davis and Katy Hosford, who each contributed 15 goals in all competitions.

Joel Piroe award

Back with the men’s team, midfielder Jay Fulton picked up the gong for Players’ Player of the Year, which was voted for by his fellow professionals.

Fulton 29, passed 200 appearances for the Swans over the course of the campaign, and has been magnificent in the centre of the park

The Scot recently signed a new deal to keep him with Swansea City until the summer of 2026.

The Newcomer of the Season prize went to defender Nathan Wood for his fine performances since joining the Swans from Middlesbrough last summer.

Wood, still only 20, has matured into a high-calibre Championship defender, and has struck up a strong partnership with Ben Cabango over recent months.

The Swansea City Ladies’ Newcomer of the Season award went to midfielder Monet Legall, who made a big impression following her arrival from Cardiff City.

The Academy Player of the Season went to Joel Cotterill, with the 18-year-old taking the gong after a season where he has skippered the under-21s and made his first-team debut against Oxford in the Carabao Cup.

Nathan Wood award

Defender Joe Thomas picked up the Swansea City Under-21s’ Player of the Season award after continuing to shine as a wing-back or on the right side of defence after first joining the club from Cambrian & Clydach in January 2022.

Off the field there was a thoroughly deserved Lifetime Achievement award for Brian Flynn.

Former Swans manager Flynn was a fitting recipient given the awards ceremony coincided with the 20th anniversary of the victory over Hull that preserved the club’s Football League status in 2003.

Flynn was appointed in September 2002 with the Swans rock bottom of the fourth tier, but managed to lead them to safety after a squad overhaul that brought the likes of Leon Britton, Alan Tate and Roberto Martinez to SA1.

The Alan Curtis award - given to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the club - went to Jon Grey.

Grey recently left the club to join the Wales Women’s set-up, bringing an end to the 45-year-old’s long association with his boyhood club that stretched back to 1994.

Grey joined as a scholar when he was 14 before going on to sign a professional contract at the Vetch Field in 1996.

He returned to the club as an academy coach in 2009 and held a number of roles over the next 14 years.

During his time in the academy Grey has played a huge part in the development of several players who have risen through the youth ranks and into the first team; including the likes of Connor Roberts, Ben Davies, Joe Rodon, Dan James and current first-team players Joe Allen, Ben Cabango and OIlie Cooper.

All seven of those players were part of Wales’ travelling party for the World Cup in Qatar last year.

Last, but not least, the evening included a vote to decide the club’s goal of the season award.

It was no easy task but, in the end, it was Ben Cabango’s unforgettable last-gasp winner in the south Wales derby at Cardiff that was picked by attendees as the best on the shortlist.

Ben Cabango award

Swansea City would like to thank all its sponsors and partners for their support over the course of the season and of tonight’s event.

Full list of winners

Under 21s' Player of the Season (sponsored by Swansea Decorating Service)

Joe Thomas

Academy Player of the Season (sponsored by the Plough & Harrow, Murton)

Joel Cotterill

Community Champion award (sponsored by Pure Football)

Carolyn Harris MP

Swansea City Ladies Top Goalscorers (sponsored by Peter Lynn & Partners)

Stacey John-Davis & Katy Hosford

Swansea City Ladies Best Newcomer of the Season (sponsored by Ammcom)

Monet Legall

Swansea City Ladies Supporters' Player of the Season (sponsored by Owens)

Jessica Williams


Best Newcomer of the Season (sponsored by Ammcom)

Nathan Wood

Top Goalscorer of the Season (sponsored by Peter Lynn & Partners)

Joel Piroe

Goal of the season (sponsored by Low Cost Vans)

Ben Cabango v Cardiff City

Players’ Player of the Season (sponsored by SA1 Solutions)

Jay Fulton

Supporters’ Player of the season (sponsored by Owens)

Ryan Manning

Lifetime Achievement award (sponsored by Swansea City Supporters’ Trust)

Brian Flynn

Alan Curtis Award (sponsored by Swansea Building Society)

Jon Grey