Swans feature at PL Primary Stars event

23rd May 2018

Swansea City will be represented at the annual Premier League Primary Stars Football tournament at Leicester’s King Power Stadium today.

The event sees all Premier League sides from the 2017-18 season represented by teams in the Under-11 mixed and Under-11 girls’ competitions.

Neyland Community School and Ysgol Gymraeg Dewi Sant progressed through preliminary competitions earlier in the season for the right to represent the Swans in Leicester.

The Swans have been drawn in a group alongside Arsenal, Everton, Huddersfield Town and West Bromwich Albion for both tournaments, with the group winners progressing to the semi-finals.

Neyland's side comprises of Theo Davies, Benjamin Gale, Joseph Gale, Charlie Hewett, Lennon Howlett, Kieron Palmer, Ashley Watkins and Harry Young.

Meanwhile, Catrin Hughes, Amelia John, Danielle Jones, Jazmyn Jones, Efa Lynch, Lily-Mai Morgan, Ffion Tovey and Gracie Williams make up the team from Dewi Sant.

The Swans have enjoyed previous success at the event, as Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Castell Nedd won the Under-11s’ competition at Goodison Park back in 2016.

You can follow the fortunes of the schools representing the Swans at this year’s tournament via Twitter on @PLCommunities and #PLPrimaryStars.