Swans make one change for cup clash

5th January 2019
First team

Swansea City boss Graham Potter has made just one change to his starting line-up for the FA Cup third-round clash at Aston Villa.

The sole alteration from the New Year's Day victory over Reading sees Courtney Baker-Richardson start up front in place of Oli McBurnie, who has been struggling with sickness.

Wilfried Bony, Jefferson Montero, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Declan John and Joel Asoro have also been ruled out by illness.

Otherwise it is the same side that claimed three points at the Madejski Stadium.

On the bench, Luciano Narsingh is included in a matchday squad for the first time this season, while George Byers and former Villa academy player Cian Harries are also among the substitutes.

Swansea City: Erwin Mulder; Kyle Naughton, Mike van der Hoorn, Joe Rodon, Connor Roberts; Leroy Fer (captain), Matt Grimes; Nathan Dyer, Bersant Celina, Wayne Routledge; Courtney Baker-Richardson.

Subs: Kristoffer Nordfeldt, Luciano Narsingh, Barrie McKay, Daniel James, Jay Fulton, George Byers, Cian Harries.

Aston Villa: Lovre Kalinic, Neil Taylor, Glenn Whelan, John McGinn, Scott Hogan, James Bree, Alan Hutton (captain), Anwar El Ghazi, Tommy Elphick, Albert Adomah, Callum O'Hare.

Subs: Henri Lansbury, Jed Steer, Keinan Davis, Birkir Bjarnason, Jonathan Kodjia, Ahmed Elmohamady, Dominic Revan.