Team news | Swansea City v Blackburn Rovers

5th February 2022
First team
Jamie Paterson

Jamie Paterson returns to the Swansea City starting line-up as Russell Martin makes two changes to his side for the meeting with Blackburn.

Paterson features for the first time since December 11 having returned to training earlier this week, with Joel Piroe the other player to start having been a substitute against Luton in midweek.

Ryan Bennett and the injured Kyle Naughton are the players to drop out of the side.

Andy Fisher continues in goal, with Flynn Downes expected to join Ryan Manning and Ben Cabango in the Swans defence.

Hannes Wolf and Cyrus Christie are the wing-backs, with skipper Matt Grimes being joined by Olivier Ntcham in midfield.

Paterson will support Piroe and Michael Obafemi in the final third for the Swans.

The visitors have topscorer Ben Brereton Diaz on the bench following his international exploits with Chile, while there are debuts for Ryan Giles and former Swans Ryan Hedges following their January moves.

Swansea City: Andy Fisher; Ben Cabango, Flynn Downes, Ryan Manning; Cyrus Christie, Olivier Ntcham, Matt Grimes (captain), Hannes Wolf; Jamie Paterson; Joel Piroe, Michael Obafemi.

Substitutes: Ben Hamer, Ryan Bennett, Jay Fulton, Korey Smith, Kyle Joseph, Joel Latibeaudiere, Finley Burns.

Blackburn Rovers: Thomas Kaminski, Ryan Nyambe, Joe Rothwell, Scott Wharton, Ryan Hedges, John Buckley, Jan Paul van Hecke, Darragh Lenihan (captain), Lewis Travis, Ryan Giles, Deyovaisio Zeefuik.

Substitutes: Aynsley Pears, Bradley Johnson, Daniel Ayala, Jacob Davenport, Reda Khadra, Jon Rankin-Costello, Ben Brereton Diaz.