Team news | Swansea City v Northampton Town

13th August 2019
First team
Kyle Naughton

Kyle Naughton captains Swansea City on his 150th appearance for the club as Steve Cooper rings the changes for the Carabao Cup clash with Northampton.

Head coach Cooper makes a full 11 changes for the visit of the Cobblers, handing the armband to defender Naughton as he reaches his milestone.

There are two debutants in the starting XI with Ben Cabango and Ben Wilmot paired at centre-half, with Naughton and Declan John either side of them. Kristoffer Nordfeldt starts in goal.

Yan Dhanda and George Byers are paired together in midfield, with Wayne Routledge making his first appearance of the season.

He is joined by Kristoffer Peterson – handed his first Swans start – and Barrie McKay in a trio operating behind the striker.

Sam Surridge, another man making his full Swansea debut, leads the line.

There is a youthful bench, including three potential debutants in Tivonge Rushehsa, Kees de Boer and Jordon Garrick.

Brandon Cooper and Liam Cullen are also among the substitutes, while the experience of Erwin Mulder and Andre Ayew is available to Cooper from the bench.

Swansea City: Kristoffer Nordfeldt; Kyle Naughton (captain), Ben Cabango, Ben Wilmot, Declan John; Yan Dhanda, George Byers; Wayne Routledge, Barrie McKay, Kristoffer Peterson; Sam Surridge.

Substitutes: Erwin Mulder, Tivonge Rushesha, Brandon Cooper, Andre Ayew, Liam Cullen, Kees de Boer, Jordon Garrick.

Northampton Town: David Cornell, Jordan Turnbull, Sam Hoskins, Ryan Watson (captain), Andy Williams, Jay Williams, Scott Wharton, Shaun McWilliams, Matt Warburton, Billy Waters, Joe Bunney.

Substitutes: Harry Smith, Scott Pollock, Chris Lines, Vadaine Oliver, Morgan Roberts, Junior Morias, Brad Lashley.