03/02/2012 15:00 v Wigan Athletic

29th May 2018
First team

Gylfi Sigurdsson scored both goals as the Swans got back to winning ways with a 2-0 victory over Wigan Athletic at the DW Stadium.

The Icelandic midfielder opened his account for the club with two spectacular strikes, although Brendan Rodgers’ side ended the game with 10 men following the sending-off of Nathan Dyer.

Both sides went close to breaking the deadlock in the first half as Dyer and Scott Sinclair went close for the Swans, while Franco Di Santo and Jean Beausejour saw chances go begging at the other end.

But it was the Swans who struck first just before half time and in sublime fashion, too, as Sigurdsson collected Steven Caulker’s pass, before unleashing a dipping 25-yard effort that left Ali Al-Habsi helpless in the Wigan goal.

Bottom side Wigan looked to respond after the break with Antolin Alcaraz seeing a shot saved by Vorm, while Leon Britton put his face in where it hurt to deny Di Santo’s acrobatic effort.

However, the Latics’ momentum stalled when the Swans doubled their lead in the 54th minute.

Sigurdsson produced the goods once more as he arrowed a 25-yard free-kick into the far corner beyond Al-Habsi, who was left flat-footed by the quality of the strike.

The Swans were reduced to 10 men soon after when Dyer was shown a straight red card for a high challenge on former Swan, Jordi Gomez, but Rodgers’ men remained solid and held out for a clean sheet and three points.

WIGAN ATHLETIC: Ali Al-Habsi, Emmerson Boyce, Gary Caldwell, Antolin Alcaraz, Maynor Figueroa (Hugo Rodallega, 67), Jordi Gomez, James McCarthy, James McArthur (Victor Moses, 46), Jean Beausejour, Franco Di Santo, Connor Sammon (Mo Diame, 46).

SUBS NOT USED: Chris Kirkland, Ronnie Stam, Albert Crusat, Ben Watson.

SWANS: Michel Vorm, Angel Rangel, Steven Caulker, Ashley Williams, Neil Taylor, Joe Allen, Leon Britton, Gylfi Sigurdsson (Alan Tate, 63), Nathan Dyer, Danny Graham (Luke Moore, 75), Scott Sinclair.

SUBS NOT USED: Gerhard Tremmel, Garry Monk, Mark Gower, Josh McEachran, Wayne Routledge.