Andre Ayew named Swansea City Supporters' Player of the Year

20th August
Brentford (H) Ayew celebration

Andre Ayew has been named Swansea City Supporters’ Player of the Season and Players’ Player of the Season in the club’s end-of-season awards for the 2019-20 campaign.

The Ghanaian enjoyed a superb year, netting 18 goals in all competitions and setting up seven more as he helped Steve Cooper’s side reach the Championship play-offs.

The 30-year-old came out on top in the fan vote for their player of the season, and was also handed that accolade by his team-mates.

In addition, Ayew also took the club’s Top Goalscorer award, and the Away Player of the Season prize.

The awards were held virtually this year as the original awards event – in conjunction with the Executive Fundraising Committee and Supporters Trust - was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic

Ayew's season was full of inspirational displays and memorable moments, ranging from his superb assists for Bersant Celina and Sam Surridge in a win at QPR, a late winner at Luton and a simply stunning strike to sink Brentford in the first leg of the play-off semi-final.

Swans awards sponsors

One award he did not scoop, however, was the Goal of the Season award. There were a number of contenders that could have made the final four but – following a Twitter vote – Wayne Routledge’s magnificent lofted finish on the final day of the regular season at Reading took top billing.

Striker Rhian Brewster scooped the Best Newcomer award after scoring 11 goals in 22 appearances during his loan spell from Liverpool over the second half of the campaign.

In the academy, the Under-23s’ Player of the Season went to full-back Tivonge Rushesha, who was one of a number of young players to make a first-team debut over the season just concluded and was an impressive performer for the development side.

The Academy Player of the Year award went to Joel Cotterill, cousin of former Swansea winger and Wales international David, following his fine performances for the under-15, under-18 and under-23 sides.

Winger Jordon Garrick, meanwhile, was recognised as Swansea City’s Community Champion for his regular work and appearances in the city and surrounding area over the last 12 months.

Whether it has been visiting young children at Morriston Hospital, attending a Junior Jacks signing session in the club shop or taking part in a stadium tour hosted by the Community Trust, the 22-year-old has been widely commended for his efforts to engage and involve himself in events in the local area.

Reading (A) Routledge goal

There were also a pair of awards recognising two individuals who have provided magnificent service to Swansea City over a number of years.

The club’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to Suzan Eames, who has retired from her role as football utilities co-ordinator after 26 years with the Swans.

An always popular and cheerful member of staff, Suzan started her time at the club working in the Harry Griffiths bar in the Vetch and ended it having seen the club’s remarkable rise, two successful Wembley appearances and European adventure.

She will be greatly missed by everyone at Swansea City.

The Alan Curtis Award also went to someone who has been an integral and much-loved part of the club for a number of years.

Jonathan Wilsher spent 15 years with the club, helping to build up and improve the media department, whilst earning a deserved reputation as one of the best media officers in any league in the land.

As head of media and marketing, Jonathan went on to become part of the club’s senior management structure before calling time on his service to the Swans this summer.

Swansea City Supporters Trust have handed their own Lifetime Achievement award to Phil Sumbler.

Sumbler is stepping down as Trust chairman having held the role over a 15-year period.

The full list of award winners and sponsors is below.

Suzan Eames

Under-23s’ Player of the Season (sponsored by the DSA)

Tivonge Rushesha

Academy Player of the Season (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Joel Cotterill

Community Champion Award (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Jordon Garrick

Away Player of the Season (sponsored by Swans Travel Club)

Andre Ayew

Best Newcomer of the Season (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Rhian Brewster

Top Goalscorer of the season (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Andre Ayew

Goal of the Season (sponsored by Low Cost Vans)

Wayne Routledge v Reading

Players’ Player of the Season (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Andre Ayew

Supporters’ Player of the Season (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Andre Ayew

Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Ammcom Limited)

Suzan Eames

Alan Curtis Award (sponsored by Elite Aerials)

Jonathan Wilsher

Swansea City Supporters Trust Lifetime Achievement Award

Phil Sumbler