Famous five opening Swansea City games

17th June

The Barclays Premier League fixtures for the 2014-15 campaign are announced tomorrow, with the Swans looking forward to their fourth consecutive season in the top flight.

We will bring you the full list of fixtures from 9am on Wednesday (June 18) here on our website and via the club's official Twitter and Facebook accounts.

Following on from yesterday's story reflecting on past opening-day games, we look at five more fixtures which kicked off the Swans' season.

2008-09 - Charlton Athletic (A)

The Swans began life in the Championship on a losing note despite an encouraging performance at Charlton Athletic.
Fresh from winning the League One title, Roberto Martinez's side got off to a nightmare start as Mark Hudson edged the Addicks ahead at The Valley after just three minutes while Garry Monk later saw red for picking up a second booking.
Andy Gray settled the contest in the last five minutes for a Charlton side which featured a 16-year-old Jonjo Shelvey, who was making his third senior appearance.

2007-08 - Oldham Athletic (A)

The title-winning League One campaign kicked off with a 2-1 defeat at Oldham Athletic.
The likes of Dorus de Vries, Angel Rangel, Ferrie Bodde and Jason Scotland all made their debuts in a performance which conjured positives, yet no points.
Former England striker Michael Ricketts scored from the penalty spot after just three minutes, but Scotland scored the first of his 29 goals in all competitions to level.
But Wales international Craig Davies broke Swans' hearts by firing past de Vries in the final minute to seal victory for the hosts.

2006-07 - Cheltenham Town (H)

After missing out on promotion via the play-offs the previous season, the Swans suffered a shock defeat on the opening day.
After a goal-less first half, Kayode Odejayi and Grant McCann put Cheltenham 2-0 up before Leon Knight pulled one back with 13 minutes to go.
But the Swans couldn't find another way past the visitors, who held on for three crucial points.

2005-06 - Tranmere Rovers (H)

The Swans got life at the Liberty off on a winning note thanks to Bayo Akinfenwa's first-half strike.
In the first competitive fixture to be held at the Swans' new home, Akinfenwa's goal after 30 minutes sent the Jack Army into ecstasy.
At the end of a busy first half, Jason McAteer saw his penalty saved by Willy Gueret before Lee Trundle was denied from the spot by John Achterberg, but the Swans ran out 1-0 victors.
Later that season, the Swans would reach the League One Play-Off final, only to be beaten by Barnsley following a penalty shootout.

2004-05 - Scunthorpe United (H)

The season which ended with automatic promotion from League Two started with defeat.
Scott McGleish fired Scunthorpe United ahead at the Vetch before a Sam Ricketts own goal late on meant there wasn't to shout about after the first game of the season.
Scunthorpe would go on to finish second with the Swans on the same points in third as they celebrated promotion to League One.