League Cup memories

27th August 2019
First team

As Swansea City face Cambridge United in the Carabao Cup on Wednesday, we take a look back at some memorable previous second-round encounters in the competition.

MK Dons 1 Swansea City 4

August 22, 2017

Paul Clement’s side came from behind to ease past the League One side at Stadium MK.

Ryan Seager put the hosts in front after just 17 minutes, but the Swans replied almost immediately through Leroy Fer.

The midfielder scored his second on the hour mark, while further strikes from Tammy Abraham and Jordan Ayew sealed the victory.

Peterborough United 1 Swansea City 3

August 23, 2016


Oli McBurnie

Oli McBurnie scored twice on his debut as Francesco Guidolin’s men made light work of Posh.

Jay Fulton’s first goal for the Swans put them in front after 15 minutes at London Road, while McBurnie netted twice in the space of three minutes before the break.

Leonardo Lopes pulled one back for the hosts in the second half, but it was nothing more than a consolation.

Swansea City 3 York City 0

August 25, 2015

Nathan Dyer

Garry Monk’s side enjoyed a comfortable victory over their League Two opponents.

Nathan Dyer put the Swans in front after just 80 seconds at the Liberty, while Matt Grimes’ first goal for the club doubled the lead in the 64th minute.

And Marvin Emnes settled the tie with a third goal two minutes from time.

Swansea City 3 Barnsley 1

August 28, 2012

Luke Moore

Luke Moore scored twice as Barnsley were swept aside in the first part of the Swans’ fairytale run.

Danny Graham opened the scoring for Michael Laudrup’s men after 24 minutes, and Moore made it 2-0 just before the hour mark.

Bobby Hassell pulled one back for the Championship side, but Moore’s second goal put the tie beyond doubt two minutes from time.