Past Meetings: Notts County v Swans

26th January 2018
First team

As the Swans get set to face Notts County at Meadow Lane in the fourth round of the FA Cup, we look back at some previous encounters between the clubs.

Here we recall past meetings in League Two and Division One. 

Notts County 0 Swans 1

League Two – Tuesday, September 12, 2000

The Swans secured their first win over Notts County in 18 years after Swans midfielder Martin Thomas fired home a stunning 28th minute curled strike on his birthday.

The Swans showed quality at both ends, with in-depth defending one minute and counter attacking the next, while Swans keeper Freestone was rarely threatened.

The Swans, who netted from their only shot on target of the match, worked hard to protect their lead and their efforts were rewarded with the three points.

The Swans were relegated at the end of the 2000/01 season after finishing in 23rd position on 37 points.

Swans: Roger Freestone, Michael Howard, Matthew Bound, Martin Thomas, Michael Keegan (Lee Jenkins, 66), Nick Cusack, Kristian O’Leary, Jason Price, Jonathan Coates, Tommy Mutton (Bari Morgan, 76), Walter Boyd (Stuart Roberts, 87).

Subs not used: Jason Jones, Gareth Phillips.

Notts County 0 Swans 1

Division One – Saturday, February 6, 1982

A Leighton James converted penalty in the 12th minute proved the difference as the Swans recorded a narrow 1-0 victory at Meadow Lane.

The Swans were awarded a penalty early on after Brian Kilcline fouled Alan Curtis, which was converted by Wales international James.

Some fine saves from Dai Davies throughout the second half kept the Swans in the match after the hosts tested their defence.

The Swans finished in sixth position at the end of the 1981/82 season on 69 points, earning them a spot in the 1982/83 European Cup Winners’ Cup preliminary round.

Swans: Dai Davies, Gary Stanley, Chris Marustik, Colin Irwin, Ray Kennedy, Ante Rajkovic, Alan Curtis, Robbie James, Leighton James, Max Thompson, Neil Robinson.

Notts County 1 Swans 0

League Two – Saturday, March 5, 2005

The promotion-chasing Swans were reduced to a 1-0 defeat to Notts County with a 50th minute goal from Mark Stallard.

Kenny Jackett’s Swans dominated the first-half, however it was the hosts who broke the deadlock with a breakaway goal five minutes after half-time.

Glynn Hurst went close to doubling the Magpies’ lead, but Izzy Iriekpen did well to back-heel the ball off the line.

The Swans were promoted to League One at the end of the 2004/05 season after finishing in third position on 80 points.

Swans: Willy Gueret, Andy Gurney, Ijah Anderson (Andy Robinson, 73), Sam Ricketts, Izzy Iriekpen, Kristian O’Leary, Adrian Forbes (Leon Britton, 52), Marcus Bean, Kevin McLeod, Lee Trundle, Lee Thorpe (Paul Connor, 52).

Subs not used: Brian Murphy, Stuart Jones.