Preview | Swansea City U21s v Hull City U21s (Premier League Cup)

28th September
Maliq Cadogan

Swansea City Under-21s kick off their Premier League Cup campaign on Friday evening as they welcome Hull City to Landore Training Ground (7pm kick-off).

The Swans exited the competition at the group stage last season as they faced Arsenal, Burnley and Stoke City in Group G.

The Tigers and the Swans have already locked horns earlier this month in a match which saw Swansea come out on top at the Stadium with a 4-0 victory. 

Hull City failed to pick up a single point in their Premier League Cup campaign last season as they were drawn in Group A alongside Fulham, Nottingham Forest and Charlton Athletic. 


Pre-match views

Coach Anthony Wright: "We've already come up against Hull this season, and they gave us a good game.

"We also haven't played at Landore yet, so we're looking forward to going back there. We've enjoyed some good wins on home turf [at the Stadium] this season so we hope for more of that.

"Again, its another cup competition, and one were we get to play clubs at a higher level and that's always a good experience for the boys."

Kyrell Wilson

Previous meeting - September 4 2023

Swansea City 4 Hull City 0 

Three goals in a little over four first-half minutes helped Swansea City Under-21s continue their unbeaten start to the season on home soil with victory over Hull City at the Stadium.

Kyrell Wilson netted the first two Swansea goals with a pair of well-taken finishes, before Sam Parker continued his fine start to the campaign with his fourth goal of the campaign.

Thomas Woodward would add Swansea's fourth goal in stoppage time, but their margin of victory could easily have been greater, with Liam Smith hitting the post twice and Wilson rattling the crossbar.

Swansea City Under-21s: Evan Watts, Harry Jones (Sammy Henia-Kamau 77), Kai Ludvigsen, Richard Faakye, Zane Myers (Josh Carey 81); Kian Jenkins, Mitchell Bates; Sam Parker, Liam Smith, Maliq Cadogan; Kyrell Wilson (Thomas Woodward 88).

Unused Substitutes: Remy Mitchell, Arthur Parker.