Report: Birmingham City 0 Swans 0

17th August 2018
First team

The Swans claimed a hard-earned point to maintain their unbeaten start to the season as they drew 0-0 at Birmingham City.

Graham Potter, returning to the club where he started his professional career, saw his side withstand heavy pressure at St Andrew’s - particularly in the first half - to frustrate the Blues.

Potter made one enforced change due to the injury sustained by keeper Kristoffer Nordfeldt last time out, with Erwin Mulder earning his first start for the club.

Academy graduate Joe Rodon made his second start following an impressive debut in last weekend’s win over Preston at the Liberty.

Mike van der Hoorn captained the side as Leroy Fer was named among Potter’s substitutes along with Daniel James and young German keeper Steven Benda.

Mulder made fine first-half saves to deny Harvey Dean and Lukas Jutkiewicz, while the latter also missed a golden opportunity to break the deadlock as he shot wide.

The Blues did have the ball in the net after 20 minutes, with Mulder keeping out a Dean effort from a corner before the hosts bundled the ball over the line, only for the assistant referee to flag for offside.

There was not much in terms of goal threat for the Swans, who handed a league debut to James in the second half, but Potter will be hugely pleased with the draw.

This point takes the Swans up to seven from three games, with a home clash with Leeds United up next at the Liberty on Tuesday.

Birmingham City: Lee Camp, Maxime Colin, Harlee Dean, Michael Morrison (capt), Kristian Pedersen, Jacques Maghoma, Maikel Kieftenbeld, Gary Gardner (Charlie Lakin, 84), Jota, Omar Bogle (Che Adams, 79), Lukas Jutkiewicz.

Subs not used: Connal Trueman, Marc Roberts, Wes Harding, Viv Solomon-Otabor, Connor Mahoney.

Swans: Erwin Mulder, Connor Roberts, Mike van der Hoorn (capt), Joe Rodon, Martin Olsson, Jay Fulton, Tom Carroll (Daniel James, 64), Bersant Celina, Joel Asoro (Matt Grimes, 77), Barrie McKay (Leroy Fer, 64), Oli McBurnie.

Subs not used: Steven Benda, Kyle Naughton, Jefferson Montero, Yan Dhanda.