Report | Blackpool 0 Swansea City 1

13th August 2022
First team
Blackpool away Andy Fisher

Andy Fisher saved a penalty and Olivier Ntcham struck a late winner as Swansea City tasted victory at Blackpool for the first time in 43 years.

The Swansea goalkeeper denied Jerry Yates with a superb save from the spot in the second half to ensure a first clean sheet of the season.

And the visitors went on to claim their first win of the campaign as Ntcham was the beneficiary of brilliant work from Michael Obafemi to slot home with just three minutes remaining.

The Swans will feel they could and should have won by more with Obafemi and Ben Cabango unable to convert excellent chances, while Joel Piroe and Harry Darling went close, and Matt Grimes was only denied by a sensational save by Dan Grimshaw.

But they will not mind a jot as they secured three points in front of a jubilant travelling support of 1,500.

The Swans had shown five changes from the midweek game at Oxford with Fisher, Grimes, Piroe, Obafemi and Kyle Naughton coming back into the side.

The Swans opened brightly as Ryan Manning, Obafemi and Piroe linked smartly only for the Dutchman’s final effort to be deflected over the bar.

At the other end Fisher made a superb save to deny Josh Bowler after the winger had tricked his way past two would-be tacklers; the Swansea keeper standing tall and saving with his feet.

But the visitors were having the better of it. Obafemi shot straight at Blackpool keeper Dan Grimshaw from the edge of the area, before Grimes fizzed a strike over the bar from the edge of the box.

Swansea should have taken the lead in the 20th minute. Grimes picked out Obafemi with a beautiful ball but the forward dragged wide of the target after getting away from Rhys Williams.

Blackpool away Matt Grimes

Blackpool were happy to sit deep in their own half and try and soak up the pressure, and were seemingly reluctant to press their opponents.

The clearest chance yet arrived 10 minutes before the break, Manning producing an outstanding corner delivery to find Cabango, but the defender’s powerful header flew agonisingly wide.

More chances came, Obafemi fired over while Piroe had a firm shot held by Grimshaw before Jay Fulton came so close to an opener right on half-time as his brilliant turn worked room for a shot, but his strike was blocked and flew over the bar.

Blackpool made a change at the break as Shayne Lavery replaced Theo Corbeanu, with the new man booked with a minute of the restart for a poor challenge on Joel Latiebaudiere.

Moments later and Grimshaw made an outstanding save as he adjusted and got in a full-length dive to push a deflected Grimes shot off the line.

But Fisher produced a brilliant save of his own after Harry Darling had been incorrectly adjudged to have fouled Kenny Dougall in the box. The keeper saved with his trailing leg to deny Yates’ spot-kick and keep the scores level.

The home side were now far more aggressive in their pressing and it was making for a frantic affair.

One promising Swansea attack foundered when Piroe’s final pass could find neither Matty Sorinola nor Obafemi ahead of him, while Bowler shot straight at Fisher on the angle.

Blackpool away Ryan Manning

Fulton was replaced by Ntcham just past the hour mark before the Swans spurned another chance as Obafemi volleyed over from a Cabango knockdown, although the offside flag would have seen the strike chalked off had it found the net.

Darling then hit a rising strike narrowly over the bar from distance as Swansea reasserted their earlier control on proceedings.

Bowler twice went close again for the home side, before the Swans sealed the win in dramatic fashion.

Obafemi made it by superbly beating his man on halfway to go clear on goal. He was patient and unselfishly laid the ball on for Ntcham to fire into an empty net.

Blackpool: Daniel Grimshaw, Callum Connolly (Jordan Gabriel 79), Lewis Fiorini, Jerry Yates, Josh Bowler, Kenny Dougall, Rhys Williams, Sonny Carey (Charlie Patino 79), Marvin Ekpiteta (captain), Dominic Thompson, Theo Corbeanu (Shayne Lavery 46).

Unused Substitutes: Chris Maxwell, James Husband, CJ Hamilton, Jordan Thorniley.

Swansea City: Andy Fisher; Joel Latibeaudiere, Ben Cabango, Harry Darling, Kyle Naughton (Joe Allen 89); Jay Fulton (Olivier Ntcham 62), Matt Grimes (captain); Matty Sorinola (Cameron Congreve 78), Joel Piroe (Liam Cullen 90) Ryan Manning; Michael Obafemi.

Unused Substitutes: Steven Benda, Nathan Wood, Ollie Cooper.

Referee: Andy Woolmer