Report | Bristol City U18s 2 Swansea City U18s 2

3rd September 2022
Iwan Morgan

Swansea City Under-18s kicked off their Premier League Cup campaign with a battling draw against Bristol Citat the Robins High Performance Centre.

A double from in-form striker Iwan Morgan ensured a share of the spoils for Darren Davies’ side, building on their first win of the season in the league against Sheffield Wednesday last time out. 

The young Swans started the brighter of the two teams creating numerous opportunities as they dominated possession and territory.

Geoff Bony and Morgan both having great chances one on one with the home keeper but were denied as the scored remained level.

However, the young Swans' pressure paid off in the 20th minute as they took a deserved lead via the penalty spot, after Zane Myers had been brought down from a clumsy challenge.

Morgan calmly stepping up to convert the penalty with assurance and composure. 

Falling behind brought a reaction from the Bristol youngsters, fashioning a spell of possession and opportunities. Their pressure resulting in an equaliser just before the break. 

An excellent piece of play from a one-two resulting in a scramble in the Swansea box. The Swans were unable to clear their lines, with the ball being poked home by the Bristol attacker to leave the match level at the break. 

The Robins caught the young Swans cold just after half-time with a free kick from 20 yards being put into the top corner, leaving keeper Ben Hughes helpless in the Swansea goal. 

But the Swans responded well, creating several opportunities as they searched for an equaliser.

Drawing level with Morgan getting his second goal of the afternoon after more good work by Myers, who found the Swans top scorer in space to neatly finish past the home keeper. 

There were chances at both ends during the final stages, but it ended all-square, with the young Swans facing Exeter and Plymouth later in the group stage of the competition.

Swansea City Under-18s: Ben Hughes, Sam Parker, Zane Myers, Seb Dabrowski, Jada Mawongo, Jacob Cook, Dan Watts, Josh Carey, Geoff Bony, Iwan Morgan, Zane Myers.