Report | Ipswich Town U18s 1 Swansea City U18s 3

1st March 2022
Filip Lissah

A goal and two assists for Corey Hurford helped Swansea City Under-18s secure a fine victory over high-flying Ipswich Town in the Professional Development League.

Hurford gave the Swans the lead early, before turning provider for both Filip Lissah and Dan Watts as Darren Davies' side continued their encouraging recent form.

The visitors took the lead after just eight minutes at St George's Park, Kyrell Wilson’s deflected cross finding Hurford in the box, who headed home from close range.

Ipswich had a couple of chances to level in the first half, Jesse Nwabueze cutting in from the left and firing just wide on the edge of the area.

Jack Manly also forced a good save from Tyler Evans from close range, the goalkeeper pushing a powerful effort well over the bar.

Wilson almost doubled the Swans lead twice before the break, a brilliant ball from Jada Mawongo finding the forward, but his powerful volley was saved.

Just four minutes later, Hurford sent Wilson through, but his poked effort was stopped by Woody Williamson in the Ipswich goal.

Hurford turned provider in the second half, finding Lissah in the box who fired into the bottom corner on his weaker foot to double Swansea's lead.

Just four minutes later Watts made it 3-0, Hurford again assisting with a great burst forward before Watts cannoned a shot past the goalkeeper.

Ipswich pulled one back with 20 minutes to go, Nwabueze cutting in from the left hand side and finding the bottom right corner.

But the Swans managed the game well from that point on to hold onto a well-earned three points.

Swansea City: Tyler Evans, Filip Lissah (Charlie Veevers 84), Ryan Bassett, Kai Ludvigsen, Jada Mawongo, Josh Edwards (captain), Josh Carey, Dan Watts, Kyrell Wilson (Ruben Davies 59), Corey Hurford, Zane Myers (Aaron Hillier 59).

Unused subs: Ewan Griffiths, Charlie Veevers, David Roberts.

Ipswich Town: Woody Williamson, Dan Cousens (Alex Graham 65), Harry Barbrook, Emmanuel Okunowo, Sean Stephenson (Yousuf Hoque 82), Calum Logan, Nico Valentine, Edwin Agbaje (Gerard Buabo 65), Ash Boatswain, Jack Manly, Jesse Nwabueze.