Report | Swansea City U21s 2 Coventry City U21s 3

11th November
Ben Hughes

Swansea City Under-21s saw their winning run come to an end as Coventry City came from behind to take all three points in their Professional Development League fixture at Landore.

An own goal and a curling strike from Tarrelle Whittaker had put the Swans two goals to the good at the break, and seemingly on their way to a sixth win in a row.

However, second-half goals from William Bapaga, Harrison Nee and Ricardo Dinanga saw the Sky Blues launch a fightback and snatch all three points.

The young Swans had entered the game unbeaten at home, and on the back of a 4-0 victory over QPR at the Stadium last time out.

The hosts had shown three changes against a Coventry side without a win in five league games prior to kick-off. Kai Ludvigsen, Corey Hurford and Whittaker came in for Azeem Abdulai, Harry Jones and Ben Lloyd respectively.

It was the Swans who started the brighter with Whittaker featuring prominently. The forward found Lincoln McFayden, who in turn teed up Hurford on the edge of the Coventry penalty area. However, keeper Luke Bell was equal to the midfielder's shot.

With the Swans playing with the sort of freedom and confidence that scoring 20 goals in six games brings, it was no surprise to see the hosts come close again.

Cameron Congreve launched a low curling effort from 25 yards towards the Coventry goal, with Bell tipping the ball around his post.

However, it was the young Sky Blues who fashioned the game's next opening. Marco Rus found pacy wide man Nee free on the right-hand side, with the latter’s powerful effort flying just past home keeper Ben Hughes’ right-hand post.  

The young Swans were given another scare five minutes later. Nathanael Ogbeta’s loose pass was picked up by Justin Obikwu, who in turn played in the dangerous Nee to bring a smart stop from Hughes. 

But the young Swans would be the side to take the lead moments later. A corner from Joel Cotterill - following a stunning strike from Ogbeta that was deflected onto the post and behind - was turned into the net by a Coventry defender under pressure from Brandon Cooper to open the scoring.

Whittaker nearly doubled the Swans lead, but Bell made a fine stop to deny the forward after Josh Thomas' unselfish lay-off, with the latter then just unable to finish a lovely flowing team move,

The hosts were not to be denied a second goal for long though. On the stroke of half-time another corner fell at the feet of Whittaker, and he made no mistake by curling the ball into the back of the net.

But any notion that the Swans were heading to a routine win were quickly dispelled as Coventry rattled the woodwork through Nee after good work by Obikwu just seconds after the restart,

Coventry continued to press, with Cooper making a series of crucial blocks and interceptions, but the skipper could not prevent Bapaga pulling a goal back after Nee had squared the ball to create the chance.

The Sky Blues were now in the ascendancy and Hughes made outstanding saves to deny the dangerous Nee and Rus as time began to tick down.

But the visitors made the pressure pay as they levelled nine minutes from time with Nee's powerful strike from a half-cleared cross bringing the scores level.

The turnaround was completed just three minutes later, neat play in midfield created space for Dinanga, and he took full advantage by firing an unstoppable effort into the net.

McFayden thought he had secured a share of the spoils for the Swans late on, but his effort was chalked off as the visitors held on to secure the three points. 

Swansea City Under-21s: Ben Hughes, Joe Thomas, Kai Ludvigsen, Brandon Cooper (captain), Nathanael Ogbeta, Corey Hurford, Cameron Congreve, Joel Cotterill, Lincoln McFayden, Tarrelle Whittaker (Ben Lloyd 69), Josh Thomas.

Unused subs: Evan Watts, Iwan Morgan, Harry Jones, Kian Jenkins.

Coventry City Under-21s: Luke Bell, Blaine Rowe, Dermi Lusala, Callum Perry (Tom Costello 80), Abel Alabi, Jay McGrath (captain), Ricardo Dinanga, Marco Rus, Justin Obikwu, William Bapaga, Harrison Nee.         

Unused subs: Dan Rachel, Elliot Betjeman, Evan Aisowieren, Tristan Batauwi.