Report | Swansea City U21s 5 Charlton Athletic U21s 0

30th October 2023
Davies and Congreve celebrate

A five-star performance from Swansea City Under-21s saw them record their third consecutive win in all competitions with a dominant display against Charlton Athletic in the Professional Development League. 

All the goals came in the first half as the home side raced to a 5-0 lead at Landore.

Liam Smith opened the scoring inside three minutes before Cameron Congreve doubled the advantage from the spot.

Kyle Naughton volleyed in a third before a second penalty was dispatched by Ruben Davies.

Davies then got his second before half-time when he finished off a sweeping Swans move.

The Swans had chances to improve the lead in the second half with substitute Maliq Cadogan hitting the crossbar with a headed effort, while Henry Molyneux made a string of good saves in the Addicks' goal.

But it was a controlled display over the second 45 minutes to seal the three points and maintain the development side’s unbeaten home record in 2023.

A number of first-team squad members also got valuable minutes under their belts with Naughton, Liam Walsh, Nathan Tjoe-A-On, Ollie Cooper and Congreve all featuring. 

The Swans set the tone in the second minute with a sweeping forward move full of intricate, fast passing through an experienced midfield of Walsh and Cooper. It was coolly finished by Smith as he curled right-footed beyond the outstretched Molyneux.

The Swans quickly doubled their advantage, this time from the spot. Smith rode a number of tackles before poking the ball into Ben Lloyd who turned in the Charlton box and was hit in the shins by a mistimed tackle. Congreve sent the keeper the wrong way and coolly converted from 12 yards.

The home side had a series of chances before Walsh forced a save from Molyneux from distance.

The Addicks' shot-stopper pushed it out for a corner which was played short for Walsh to deliver. Ollie Hobden won the header in the box but could only divert it into the path of Naughton, who volleyed in from the edge of the box to make it 3-0.

Davies and Congreve combined again almost straight from the restart, with the latter taken out in the box by a sliding challenge for another Swansea penalty. This time Davies stepped up to dispatch the spot-kick and further assert the Swans' dominance.

Home keeper Evan Watts was called into action when a hooked ball forward took a horrible bounce off the wet turf, but he stayed alert and tipped it over the bar. The resulting corner was headed wide by Seydil Toure.

And there was still time for the home side to extend their lead further before the break as they hit Charlton on the break. Cooper drove powerfully forward before poking the ball between the centre-backs for Smith. The Scot drew the keeper before squaring it to Davies to put in the net.

Ben Lloyd

The Swans continued to boast the majority of the possession and chances in the second period, showing maturity and control without quite reaching the fast-paced heights of the first half.

Lloyd, Davies and Smith all went close with headed efforts before Davies forced Molyneux into a neat stop in slippy conditions with his effort from inside the box.

At the other end, Joshua Ogunnowe blasted wide after a bit of a scramble in the Swans penalty area.

The Swansea substitutes also had their chances after being introduced. Cadogan headed onto the crossbar and Mitchell Bates’ effort from distance needed to be tipped over. Richard Faakye also tested the keeper with a fierce header from close range.

Molyneux was tested twice more in the closing stages, saving well from Sam Parker’s vicious strike from distance before a more straightforward stop denied Cadogan’s effort from a free-kick.

Swansea City Under-21s: Evan Watts, Sam Parker, Nathan Tjoe-A-On (Richard Faakye 45’), Liam Walsh (Maliq Cadogan 60’), Filip Lissah (captain), Kyle Naughton (Mitchell Bates 60’) Cameron Congreve, Ollie Cooper, Ruben Davies, Ben Lloyd (Kyrell Wilson 75’), Liam Smith.

Unused substitutes: Remy Mitchell.


Charlton Athletic Under-21s: Henry Molyneux, Richard Chin (Ethan Brown 65’), Toby Bowen, Harvey Kedwell (captain), Ollie Hobden, Seydil Toure (Luke Ashburn 65’), Jadon Yamoah, Ralfi Hand, Tolu Ladafo, Jason Adigun, Joshua Ogunnowe (Michael Berry 65’).

Unused substitutes: Prince Adegoke.