Swansea City's opening-day classics

2nd August 2019
First team

With Swansea City set to get the 2019-20 season under way against Hull on Saturday, we take a look back at some memorable encounters from the start of previous campaigns.

Sheffield United 1 Swansea City 2

Championship - August 4, 2018

Yan Dhanda scored with his first touch in professional football as Swansea City came from behind to stun Sheffield United at Bramall Lane.

Graham Potter's men had looked set to suffer an opening-day defeat on their return to the second tier as George Baldock put the Blades ahead.

But the introduction of Jefferson Montero from the bench turned the game and the visitors quickly levelled when Oli McBurnie fired home the rebound after a flowing team move.

And Montero's express pace set up the winner, as the ball fell to Dhanda to sweep home following the Ecuador international's surging run to send the travelling Jacks into jubilant celebration.

Swansea City: Kristoffer Nordfeldt; Connor Roberts, Federico Fernandez, Mike van der Hoorn, Martin Olsson (Matt Grimes 72); Jay Fulton (Yan Dhanda 85), Tom Carroll; Joel Asoro (Jefferson Montero 63), Bersant Celina, Barrie McKay; Oli McBurnie.

Chelsea 2 Swansea City 2

Premier League - August 8, 2015

Swansea City more than played their part in a thrilling season opener at Stamford Bridge that saw them share the spoils with reigning Premier League champions Chelsea.

Oscar's free-kick had put Jose Mourinho's men ahead, but the Swans were soon level when Andre Ayew adjusted quickly to beat Thibaut Courtois.

A Federico Fernandez own goal - the Argentinian turning a Willian cross into his own net - restored Chelsea's lead but, with Jefferson Montero causing all manner of problems for Branislav Ivanovic, Swansea remained well in the contest.

And they levelled when Courtois was dismissed for fouling Bafetimbi Gomis, with the Frenchman beating Asmir Begovic from the spot.

Swansea City: Lukasz Fabianski; Kyle Naughton, Federico Fernandez, Ashley Williams. Neil Taylor; Jonjo Shelvey; Ki Sung-yueng (Jack Cork 41); Andre Ayew, Gylfi Sigurdsson, Jefferson Montero (Wayne Routledge 71); Bafetimbi Gomis (Eder 79).

Manchester United 1 Swansea City 2

Premier League - August 16, 2014

Swansea City made a dream start to what proved to be a record-breaking season in Garry Monk's first full campaign in charge.

Ki Sung-yueng gave the visitors a shock 28th-minute lead as his left-footed shot nestled into the bottom corner for what was his first goal for the club.

The hosts, led by Louis van Gaal for the first time, were level after the break as captain Wayne Rooney fired in from close range.

But Monk's men rallied again, and they stunned Old Trafford as summer signing Gylfi Sigurdsson saw his effort just manage to cross the line despite the efforts of David De Gea.

After an historic FA Cup victory at the ground the previous season, Monk's men were able to celebrate a first-ever league win at United as the final whistle blew.

Swansea City: Lukasz Fabianski, Angel Rangel, Ashley Williams (capt), Jordi Amat, Neil Taylor (Dwight Tiendalli, 54), Ki Sung-Yueng, Jonjo Shelvey, Wayne Routledge, Nathan Dyer (Jefferson Montero, 66), Gylfi Sigurdsson, Wilfried Bony (Bafetimbi Gomis, 78).

QPR 0 Swansea City 5

Premier League - August 18, 2012

A sensational performance from Swansea City saw them kick off their second Premier League campaign with a stunning 5-0 demolition of Queens Park Rangers at Loftus Road.

Michu made a dream start to life at his new club, with the Spaniard opening the scoring after just eight minutes.

He doubled the lead in the second half with a superb curling effort, before a Nathan Dyer brace and substitute Scott Sinclair’s late strike rounded off a convincing win for the Swans in Michael Laudrup’s first game in charge.

Swansea City: Michel Vorm, Angel Rangel, Chico Flores, Ashley Williams (capt), Neil Taylor, Leon Britton, Jonathan de Guzman (Kemy Agustien, 70), Michu (Mark Gower, 84), Nathan Dyer (Scott Sinclair, 77), Wayne Routledge, Danny Graham.

Swansea City 1 Tranmere Rovers 0

League One - August 6, 2005

Adebayo Akinfenwa wrote himself into Swansea City's history books as he scored the first competitive goal at the Liberty.

The big striker ensured the Swans got life at their new home off on a winning note thanks to his first-half strike.

At the end of a busy opening 45 minutes, Jason McAteer saw his penalty saved by Willy Gueret before Lee Trundle was denied from the spot by John Achterberg, but the Swans ran out victors.

Later that season, the Swans would reach the League One play-off final, only to be beaten by Barnsley following a dramatic penalty shootout.

Swansea City: Willy Gueret, Sam Ricketts, Izzy Iriekpen, Kevin Austin, Garry Monk (Alan Tate, 45), Adrian Forbes, Marc Goodfellow, Roberto Martinez, Kristian O'Leary, Adebayo Akinfenwa, Lee Trundle (Owain Tudur Jones, 89).

Swansea City 4 Bury 2

Third Division - August 9, 2003

Lee Trundle scored his first Swansea City goal while Brad Maylett bagged a hat-trick as Bury were brushed aside at the Vetch.

Maylett took just five minutes to open the scoring as he fired a powerful volley inside the far post following a neat cross from the left.

Bury were level by the break after Andy Preece headed home, having beaten keeper Brian Murphy to a cross.

But a frantic finish to the game saw four goals in the last 11 minutes.

Maylett made it 2-1 thanks to a deflected strike, before Trundle headed home from sub Kevin Nugent’s flick-on.

Lee Connell ensured there would be a tense finish as he netted with five minutes to go, but Trundle set up Maylett in stoppage time to seal the winger’s hat-trick and victory for the Swans.

Swansea City: Brian Murphy, Stuart Jones, Kristian O'Leary, Lenny Johnrose, Leon Hylton, Roberto Martinez, Leon Britton, Bradley Maylett, Karl Connolly, James Thomas (Kevin Nugent, 73), Lee Trundle.

Swansea City 5 Leeds United 1

First Division - August 29, 1981

Bob Latchford scored a hat-trick as Swansea City marked the first top-flight game in the club's history with an emphatic hammering of Leeds at a sun-soaked Vetch Field.

Jeremy Charles got the ball rolling after five minutes as he directed Alan Curtis' cross from the left flank past keeper John Lukic.

Derek Parlane's diving header put Leeds back on level terms, but the Swans took charge after the break.

Latchford's powerful half-volley gave Lukic no chance as he put the hosts ahead with his first goal for the club.

The striker then earned the Swans some breathing space as he tucked home Neil Robinson's low cross from the right.

And a remarkable debut was topped off with a hat-trick for Latchford as he rose highest to meet Leighton James' pinpoint cross to head into the far corner of the net.

But the last word went to Curtis. Against his former club, he picked the ball up from Ante Rajkovic and cut inside from the flank before his famous swerve saw him back on his right foot to send a thunderous effort into the top corner.

It set the tone for the season, where Toshack's men would finish the campaign in sixth place.

Swansea City: Dai Davies, Neil Robinson, Dzemal Hadziabdic, Ante Rajkovic, Colin Irwin, John Mahoney, Alan Curtis, Robbie James, Leighton James, Jeremy Charles, Bob Latchford.