Team news | Bristol City v Swansea City

20th August
First team
Ethan Laird

Ethan Laird makes his full Swansea City debut in tonight’s Championship clash with Bristol City at Ashton Gate.

The wing-back is one of four changes made to the Swans side as Joel Piroe, Jamie Paterson and Liam Cullen also come into the side.

Ben Cabango and Flynn Downes miss out after returning positive tests for Covid -19, while Yan Dhanda and Jamal Lowe drop to the bench.

Steven Benda continues in goal, with Joel Latibeaudiere, Brandon Cooper and Ryan Manning making up a three-man defence.

Laird and Jake Bidwell are the wing-backs, with Jay Fulton and skipper Matt Grimes in midfield.

Former Bristol City player Paterson starts in the number 10 role, with Piroe and Cullen up top for the Swans.

Bristol City: Dan Bentley (captain), Danny Simpson, Jay Dasilva, Rob Atkinson, Matty James, Chris Martin, Andreas Weimann, Cameron Pring, Tomas Kalas, Alex Scott, Han-Noah Massengo.

Substitutes: Max O’Leary, Tyreeq Bakinson, Nathan Baker, Antoine Semenyo, Nahki Wells, Andy King, Kasey Palmer.

Swansea City: Steven Benda; Joel Latibeaudiere, Brandon Cooper, Ryan Manning; Ethan Laird, Jay Fulton, Matt Grimes (captain), Jake Bidwell; Jamie Paterson, Liam Cullen, Joel Piroe.

Substitutes: Ben Hamer, Jamal Lowe, Morgan Whittaker, Kyle Joseph, Yan Dhanda, Lincoln Mcfayden, Dan Williams.