Team news | Swansea City v Hull City

11th September 2021
First team
Flynn Downes

Rhys Williams and Olivier Ntcham make their Swansea City debuts as head coach Russell Martin makes five changes for the visit of Hull City.

Defender Williams and midfielder Ntcham joined at the end of the transfer window and come in for Ryan Manning and Liam Cullen respectively.

Ben Hamer, Kyle Naughton and Flynn Downes are the others to come into the side, as Steven Benda, Joel Latibeaudiere and Jay Fulton drop to the bench.

Which means Hamer makes a first league appearance for the Swans in goal, behind a back three of Naughton, Ryan Bennett and Williams.

Ethan Laird and Jake Bidwell are the wing-backs, with Downes joining captaining Matt Grimes in a deeper midfield role.

Jamie Paterson and Ntcham will operate as attacking midfielders, providing support for lone striker Joel Piroe.

Michael Obafemi is in line for his Swans debut from the bench.

Swansea City: Ben Hamer; Kyle Naughton, Ryan Bennett, Rhys Williams; Ethan Laird, Flynn Downes, Matt Grimes (captain), Jake Bidwell; Olivier Ntcham, Jamie Paterson; Joel Piroe.

Substitutes: Steven Benda, Ryan Manning, Ben Cabango, Jay Fulton, Michael Obafemi, Liam Cullen, Joel Latibeaudiere.

Hull City: Matt Ingram, Lewie Coyle (captain), Callum Elder, Jacob Greaves, Mallik Wilks, Greg Docherty, Keane Lewis-Potter, George Moncur, Tom Huddlestone, Di'Shon Bernard, Josh Magennis.

Substitutes: Nathan Baxter, Richie Smallwood, Josh Emmanuel, Ryan Longman, Sean McLoughlin, Matt Smith, Tyler Smith.