Under starter's orders

16th June 2014

With the 2014-15 Barclays Premier League fixtures set to be announced at 9am on Wednesday (June 18), Swansea's fourth season in the top-flight is already on the horizon.

And to whet your appetite for the highly anticipated fixtures announcement, today we look back at Swansea's opening day matches from the past five seasons.

Counting backwards, we go from last season's defeat to David Moyes' Manchester United, on to a five-star performance against QPR, and all the way back to Paulo Sousa's first game in charge against Leicester City.


2013-14 - Manchester United (H)

The Swans got off to a difficult start to 2013-14 when they hosted David Moyes' Manchester United at the Liberty Stadium in the opening fixture of the campaign.

Despite a late consolation goal by debutant Wilfried Bony, a first-half brace from Robin Van Persie and a second-half double by Danny Welbeck saw the visitors run out 4-1 victors in Moyes' first league match since taking over the reigns at Old Trafford from Sir Alex Ferguson.



2012-13 - QPR (A)

Michu and Nathan Dyer both scored twice to help Michael Laudrup get off to a dream start as Swansea boss with a thumping 5-0 victory over QPR at Loftus Road.

The rout began inside ten minutes when Michu hit home from 25-yards before doubling his tally with a curling effort just after the midway point.

Nathan Dyer then scored twice in quick succession before Scott Sinclair completed the opening day demolition job in the 81st minute with a low finish past goalkeeper Rob Green.


2011-12 - Manchester City (A)

Swansea City endured a difficult start to life in the Premier League when they came up against Manchester City at the start of the 2011-12 campaign.

Despite the Swans showing plenty of the free-flowing football that earned the club promotion to the top-flight, Roberto Mancini's side's sheer firepower shone through on the night.

In a second-half blitz, Sergio Aguero scored twice on his debut, while goals from Edin Dzeko and David Silva completed a 4-0 victory for the hosts.


2010-11 - Hull City (A)

The Swans got off to a stuttering start to their 2010-11 Championship promotion campaign when they succumbed to a 2-0 defeat at Hull on the opening day of the season.

Midway through the first period, debutant John Bostock scored a 30-yard wonder goal to put the Tigers in front before skipper Ian Ashbee pounced on Dorus de Vries' error to seal victory for the hosts.

In what was Brendan Rodgers' first game in charge, the Swans would go on to win promotion to the Premier League following a 4-2 victory over Reading in the play-off final at Wembley.


2009-10 - Leicester City (A)

Two goals in three second-half minutes saw Leicester come from behind to mark their return to the Championship with victory over Swansea.

In Paulo Sousa's first game in charge of the Swans, Ashley Williams headed the Portuguese's side in front after 17 minutes, nodding home from Mark Gower's corner.

Despite seeing a penalty saved by Dorus De Vries, Leicester restored parity when Martyn Waghorn put the Foxes level in the 69th minute before Dany N'Guessan slotted home the winner.