Laudrup happy with Euro draw

30th August 2013

Michael Laudrup believes his side has a very good chance of progressing from the Europa League Group Stages following today's draw.
The Capital One Cup holders were included in Group A along with Spanish giants Valencia, Russian side Kuban Krasnodar and St Gallen of Switzerland after coming through their Play-Off with Romanian side Petrolul Ploiesti.
The Swans begin their campaign at Valencia with a trip to the Mestalla on Thursday, September 19
Top seeds Valencia will be the strong favourites to top the group, but Laudrup feels his side have a good opportunity to make it through to the last 32.



"It's an interesting draw," said Laudrup, who knows Valencia well during his time in Spain as both a player and manager.
"Starting with the top team, Valencia have been the third team of Spain for many years, just below Real Madrid and Barcelona. Now they are competing with Atletico Madrid, but they are a huge side.
"We have a lot of Spanish players here and a lot of people who have lived in Spain, so it will be a great experience for all of us.
"We are all looking forward to it even though they will be huge favourites to top the group.
"But the other two teams, I think if we play to our best I think we should have a very good possibility of moving on from the group."
He added: "It will be a new part of our European adventure and a new experience.
"I am pleased the top team is a Spanish side because we have so many Spanish players who will look forward to that. Then we get to try two new countries - it's good.
"I don't know so much about Kuban Krasnodar because they were in the second division when I was in Russia. It is the same with St Gallen, but they beat Spartak Moscow so you can say they are a good side.
"I think the experience of Petrolul should help us. We saw almost two completely different sides, and I think that is more or less what we can expect from Kuban and St Gallen as well.
"Russia in November? It will be chilly, but Krasnodar is down towards the Black Sea so that's a little better for us. It's not Marbella or Majorca, but it shouldn't be ten below. We can play - it will be worst for the guys sitting in the stand."

Group A fixtures
Sept 19: Valencia v Swansea City - 7pm CET (6pm GMT)
Oct 3: Swansea City v St Gallen - 9.05pm CET (8.05pm GMT)
Oct 24: Swansea City v Kuban Krasnodar - 9.05pm CET (8.05 GMT)
Nov 7: Kuban Krasnador v Swansea City - 6pm CET (5pm GMT)
Nov 28: Swansea City v Valencia - 9.05pm CET (8.05pm GMT)
Dec 12: St Gallen v Swansea City - 7pm CET (6pm GMT)