Byers starts, Fer on the bench for Swans

22nd April 2019
First team

George Byers returns to the Swansea City starting line-up as manager Graham Potter makes just one alteration for the Easter Monday clash with Ipswich.

The midfielder made a goal-scoring contribution off the bench in Friday's win over Rotherham, and he gets the nod at Portman Road as Barrie McKay drops to the bench.

Club captain Leroy Fer could see his first involvement since the draw with Birmingham at the end of January after being named among the substitutes.

But there is no place for Bersant Celina, despite Potter initially being hopeful that the Kosovo international could play a part after illness.

Kristoffer Nordfeldt keeps his place in goal, with Connor Roberts, Mike van der Hoorn, Cameron Carter-Vickers and Kyle Naughton making up the back four.

Byers joins Jay Fulton and Matt Grimes in the Swans midfield, while Wayne Routledge, Daniel James and Oli McBurnie lead the Swans attack.

McKay and Fer are joined on the bench by Steven Benda, Declan John, Joe Rodon, Nathan Dyer and Courtney Baker-Richardson.

Ipswich Town: Dean Gerken, Luke Chambers (capt), Trevor Chalobah, Gwion Edwards, Will Keane, Flynn Downes, Aristote Nsiala, Andre Dozzell, Callum Elder, Alan Judge, James Bree.

Subs: Bartosz Bialkowski, Cole Skuse, Kayden Jackson, Teddy Bishop, Tristan Nydam, Collin Quaner, Corrie Ndaba.

Swansea City: Kristoffer Nordfeldt; Connor Roberts, Mike van der Hoorn (capt), Cameron Carter-Vickers, Kyle Naughton; Jay Fulton, George Byers, Matt Grimes; Wayne Routledge, Oli McBurnie, Daniel James.

Subs: Steven Benda, Declan John, Joe Rodon, Leroy Fer, Barrie McKay, Nathan Dyer, Courtney Baker-Richardson.