On this day: Vital victories

28th September 2017

On this day in 2010, the Swans recorded the first away win of their promotion season with victory over Watford at Vicarage Road.

Swansea took just 11 minutes to open the scoring as Scott Sinclair latched onto Stephen Dobbie’s dinked pass before getting to the ball ahead of Scott Loach to stab home his eighth goal of the season.

Having made the first, Dobbie scored the second when he received the ball from Joe Allen and rifled past Loach off the underside of the crossbar.

Substitute Frank Nouble added the third within seconds of coming on when he turned in Nathan Dyer’s drilled cross midway through the second half.

It proved to be enough for Brendan Rodgers’ men, who were given a scare when Troy Deeney and Martin Taylor cut the deficit to just a single goal with five minutes remaining, as they held on for all three points.

The season would end in glory for the Swans, who earned promotion to the top-flight by winning the Championship play-off final.

Swans: Dorus de Vries, Albert Serran, Ashley Williams, Garry Monk, Alan Tate, Neil Taylor (Angel Rangel, 64), Nathan Dyer, Mark Gower, Joe Allen, Scott Sinclair (Cedric van der Gun, 72), Stephen Dobbie (Frank Nouble, 68).

Subs not used: Yves Ma-Kalambay, Andrea Orlandi, Jordi Lopez, Craig Beattie.


Two last-minute goals sealed a shock victory over Luton Town in the opening round of the EFL Trophy in 2004.

Luton were flying high in League One but were reduced to 10 men after just 12 minutes at the Vetch when Leon Barnett was sent off for a rash challenge on Adrian Forbes.

Kenny Jackett’s men capitalised on the numerical advantage and finally made the breakthrough with 15 seconds of normal time remaining when Kevin Nugent fired home, while Sam Ricketts’s fierce injury-time strike secured a big upset.

That season would also end in promotion for the Swans, who finished third in League Two behind Yeovil Town and Scunthorpe United.

Swans: Willy Gueret, Sam Ricketts, Kevin Austin, Garry Monk, Andy Gurney, Kristian O’Leary, Roberto Martinez, Andy Robinson, Brad Maylett, Adrian Forbes, Scott Fitzgerald (Kevin Nugent, 66).

Subs not used: Brian Murphy, Alan Tate, Leon Britton, Gary Fisken.