Grimes named Player of the Year

28th April 2019

Matt Grimes has been named Supporters' Player of the Year at Swansea City’s awards night.

The midfielder cleaned up on the night as he was also named Players’ Player, Away Player and Personality of the Year.

It proved a busy evening for the midfielder, who has enjoyed a hugely successful season on the pitch.

A key figure in Graham Potter’s midfield, he has also been utilised at left-back and centre-back this term.

Featuring almost 50 times in all competitions this season, Grimes has been instrumental in the club’s free-flowing football style, with the 23-year-old having made more passes in the Championship this term.

Despite signing from Exeter City in January 2015 and making his Premier League debut shortly after, it wasn’t until when Potter took charge last summer when Grimes made his breakthrough in SA1.

And he has repaid the faith shown in him with consistent performances and a regular role in the heart of the Swans midfield.

The goal of the season award had some stunning nominations, but it was Bersant Celina's strike against his former club Manchester City in the FA Cup which topped the lot.

In a vote held on the night, Celina was actually nominated three times - his top corner effort against Gilliingham, also in the FA Cup, and rounding off a team move in the Championship clash against another former club in Ipswich his other nominations.

Barrie McKay's sweetly-taken strike against Bolton was also in the mix, as was Daniel James' goals against Brentford - in the FA Cup - and Stoke City were also voted for.

Oli McBurnie's looping header in the 2-2 draw with Leeds was the remaining nomination.

Rapid winger Daniel James claimed two awards on the night.

James, who made his Swans debut last season in the FA Cup replay win over Notts County, was named Best Newcomer of the Year along with being recognised for his work locally via the Community Champion award.

The Swans Academy graduate caught the eye with some sensational performances and goals this season.

Another to have benefited from Potter’s tendency to give youth a chance, James’ pace caused endless problems for defences up and down the country.

His displays in white also led to international recognition, with James earning his Wales debut and scoring his first goal for his country.

And his work in and around the city was also highlighted, with the 21-year-old handed the Community Champion gong.

Oli McBurnie was the clear winner of the Top Goalscorer award.

The striker has enjoyed a spectacular first full season leading the line for the Swans, scoring 23 goals, which saw him become the first player to hit the 20-goal mark since Wilfried Bony in 2014.

Meanwhile, Steven Benda was crowned Under-23s Player of the Year.

The German keeper has enjoyed a fine season under Gary Richards and Cameron Toshack, helping the U23s to the Premier League Cup semi-final – a competition in which they face Everton next week at the Liberty.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to both Nigel Hamer and Jackie Rockey.

Hamer has spent almost 20 years with the Swansea City Supporters’ Trust, first as an elected member and then in a role that he still holds now as secretary to the board.

He was recognised for his unquestionable service to the Supporters’ Trust and the role he played in helping set up the organisation.

Rockey, meanwhile, has called time on her 19 years as a much-respected secretary at the Swans – a role she will retire from at the end of the season.

Starting her role in the summer of 2000 with John Hollins as her first manager, Rockey has also worked under Colin Addison, Roger Freestone and Nick Cusack, Brian Flynn, Alan Curtis, Kenny Jackett, Kevin Nugent, Roberto Martinez, Paulo Sousa, Brendan Rodgers, Michael Laudrup, Garry Monk, Francesco Guidolin, Bob Bradley, Paul Clement, Leon Britton, Carlos Carvalhal and current boss Graham Potter.

She has been part of promotions, relegations, lifting the Football League Trophy, the Premier League adventure, a League Cup win at Wembley and a Europa League adventure.

Her role at Swansea City over the last 19 years cannot be underestimated. Knowing the rules of football inside and out is not easy, and her work ensuring transfers go through on time and organising the team’s travel itinerary has been of the highest standard.

The final presentation saw the new Alan Curtis Award being announced.

This award was created in honour of Alan Curtis, who will retire from first-team coaching at the end of this season.

The man known simply as “legend” around the club has given over 40 years of service to the Swans as a player, coach, caretaker-manager and in various other roles.

He rightfully becomes the first recipient of the award, while future winners will be chosen on showing similar qualities, loyalty and characteristics as Alan.


Swansea City awards night, sponsored by Ammcom

Supporters’ Player of the Year (sponsored by SA1 Solutions)

Matt Grimes


Players’ Player of the Year (sponsored by John Francis)

Matt Grimes


Best Newcomer of the Year (sponsored by Ammcom)

Daniel James


Away Player of the Year (sponsored by Swansea City Travel Club)

Matt Grimes


Under-23s Player of the Year (sponsored by Vodafone)

Steven Benda


Top Goalscorer (sponsored by Peter Lynn & Partners)

Oli McBurnie


Goal of the Season (sponsored by Low Cost Vans)

Bersant Celina (v Manchester City)


Community Champion (sponsored by Village Hotel)

Daniel James


Personality of the Year (sponsored by Superstars Charity Auction)

Matt Grimes


Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Swansea City Supporters Trust)

Nigel Hamer and Jackie Rockey


Alan Curtis Award (sponsored by Swansea City)

Alan Curtis