Past Meetings: Swans v Crystal Palace

21st December
First team

As the Swans get set to face Crystal Palace at the Liberty on Saturday, we look back at some previous encounters between the clubs.

Here we bring you past meetings from the Premier League, the Championship and the Second Division.


Swans 5 Crystal Palace 4

Premier League – Saturday, November 26, 2016

Fernando Llorente scored twice in injury time to secure a remarkable 5-4 win for the Swans against Crystal Palace.

Palace opened the scoring in the 19th minute when Wilfried Zaha slotted a low shot past Lukasz Fabianski.

The Swans equalised through midfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson, who whipped a 20-yard free-kick over the wall to make it 1-1 at the break.

Swansea’s Leroy Fer then netted twice at the far post in the space of two minutes. First he followed up Llorente’s blocked header, then he stabbed home after Sigurdsson’s free-kick was flicked on by Jordi Amat.

Palace reduced the deficit in the 75th minute when James Tomkins slotted home, before a cruel deflection off Jack Cork saw Zaha’s cross loop into the net in the 82nd minute.

Just two minutes later Palace striker Christian Benteke’s shot went in off the post to give the visitors a 4-3 lead.

The Swans looked doomed, but Llorente then poked the ball home from Sigurdsson’s shot to make it 4-4 in the first minute of added time.

Incredibly, he then scored his second in the third added minute following a scramble in the box to secure a thrilling victory for Bob Bradley’s Swans.

Swans: Lukasz Fabianski, Kyle Naughton (Jefferson Montero 86), Federico Fernandez, Jordi Amat, Neil Taylor, Jack Cork, Jay Fulton, Leroy Fer, Modou Barrow (Angel Rangel 80), Gylfi Sigurdsson, Wayne Routledge (Fernando Llorente 66).

Subs not used: Kristoffer Nordfeldt, Mike van der Hoorn, Nathan Dyer, Oli McBurnie.


Swans 3 Crystal Palace 0

Championship – Saturday, January 15, 2011

Scott Sinclair scored two penalties as the Swans maintained their promotion push with victory in Dougie Freedman’s first match as full-time Crystal Palace boss.

Darren Pratley broke the deadlock in the 43rd minute as he sidefooted home from Sinclair’s low cut-back.

The Swans were awarded a penalty in the 56th minute when Nathan Dyer was brought down by Palace defender David Wright, and Sinclair coolly converted.

The second spot-kick came shortly after the hour mark when Steffen Iversen handled in the box. Sinclair netted his 16th goal of the 2010-11 season to round off the win.

The Swans were promoted to the Premier League at the end of the 2010-11 campaign through the play-offs after finishing in third position in the Championship.

Swans: Dorus de Vries, Ashley Williams, Alan Tate, Angel Rangel, Darren Pratley, Nathan Dyer (Cedric van der Gun 85), Scott Sinclair, Joe Allen, Mark Gower, Jazz Richards (Daniel Alfei 89), Luke Moore (Stephen Dobbie 85).

Unused subs: Yves Makalambay, Albert Serran, Kemy Agustien, Craig Beattie.


Swans 1 Crystal Palace 0

Division Two – Saturday, December 3, 1983

Darren Gale’s diving header in the 15th minute secured the Swans’ first league win in 11 games under caretaker boss Les Chappell following the departure of acting manager Doug Livermore.

Injuries to Dudley Lewis and Colin Irwin saw the Swans play the last 20 minutes with 10 men, while Irwin was a passenger.

The Swans were relegated to the Third Division at the end of the 1983-84 season after they finished in 21st position on 29 points.

Swans: Chris Sander, Dudley Lewis, Chris Marustik (Ian Walsh ht), Colin Irwin, Nigel Stevenson, Gary Stanley, Huw Lake, Paul Maddy, Bob Latchford, Darren Gale, Colin Pascoe.