add-calendarblack-diamondscalendarcameracheckclose-blackclosecopper-black-overlaycopper-dark-black-overlaycopper-grey-overlaycopper-overlaycreate-accountcybil-mascotcyril-mascotdesign-stripsdragondropdown-copperdropdown-golddropdown-whitedropdowndropup-copperenglishfacebookfilegalleryswansea iconsgoalgold-black-overlaygold-grey-overlaygold-overlayinsta-colourinstagram-colorinstagram-colourinstagraminstagramcolourleft-arrow-blackleft-arrowlive-tablelocation-whitelocationlogo-whitemandarinminusnotificationplay-copperplay-whiteplayplayer-whiteplayerplusquote-bottom-copperquote-bottom-yellowquote-bottomquote-top-copperquote-top-yellowquote-topred-cardright-arrow-blackright-arrow-greyright-arrow-whiteright-arrowsearchsecond-yellowshareshirtshopsign-insnapchatsoundspotifystadiumstatssubstitutionswan-bg-blackswan-bg-darkgreyswan-bg-lightgreytelevisiontickettimetimertwitterwechatweibowhistle-whitewhistleyellow-card

Roberts unhappy with penalty call

The Swans had taken a 1-0 lead at Deepdale after Courtney Baker-Richardson had capped a fine team move by slotting home Bersant Celina’s low cross.

But, just as they looked set to press on for a third win in a row, defender Roberts was adjudged to have handled a Jayden Stockley cross.

The spot-kick was awarded by the assistant referee and Daniel Johnson levelled for North End as the game ended all-square.

Roberts did not agree with the decision, but admitted Swansea should have been in a position to ensure that call did not cost them points.

“We were the better team in the first half and again in the second half, and it was just the decision went against us which it should not have come down to,” said the Wales international.

“We should have scored a couple more goals and been out of sight by then.

“I felt we were unfortunate, 100 per cent. I could stand here and say all sorts but at the end of the day it wasn’t a penalty, but we have to move on.”

Manager Graham Potter said he had not had a clear view of the incident, but re-iterated that Roberts was adamant he had not handled the ball.

“It is hard to see from where I am, it is on the other side of the pitch. I noticed the referee did not give it, the linesman did, whether that was a reaction to the crowd I don’t know,” said Potter.

“Connor said it did not hit his hand, but there are funny things that can happen in a live football match.

“Until I see it I don’t really know.”

Article tags:

First TeamConnor Roberts

Latest News