Trust celebrate successful year

19th May 2019

The event recognised and rewarded the hard work of participants and volunteers across all its projects.

There was much to celebrate for the club’s official charity, who engaged with more than 7,000 people over the year.

Some £18,000 worth of SwansAid grants were handed out over the course of the season, while more than 250 people gained new qualifications with the Trust’s help.

A host of first-team players were on hand to present awards, as well as club ambassadors Lee Trundle and Leon Britton.

Leroy Fer, Oli McBurnie, Daniel James, Wayne Routledge, Connor Roberts, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Courtney Baker-Richardson, Mike van der Hoorn and Steven Benda also took time out to take pictures and sign autographs with the winners and nominees while Graham Potter participated in a Q&A with host Rob Phillips.

Swans defender Connor Roberts was also presented the PFA Community Player of the Year award, which recognised his support for the local community over the past season.

“Our annual celebration event is the highlight of our year, it’s fantastic for us to celebrate the achievements of all our participants and partners with so many distinguished guests,” said the Community Trust’s Inclusion Senior Manager Tom Williams.

“The people we work with are truly inspirational and we are immensely proud of all of their accomplishments.”

With 11 awards handed out across six projects, the event celebrated the Trust’s work in the areas of employability, education and sports participation.

“It is a great evening to celebrate the outstanding work the Community Trust does in the local community,” said club ambassador Lee Trundle.

“Myself and Leon have really enjoyed going out to the Community Trust’s events over the course of the season so it’s great to see the participants and volunteers being recognised for their hard work.”.


Full list of winners:

Premier League Primary Stars Participant of the Year (Sponsored by E.G. Lewis Group): Lola Richards

Premier League Kicks Participant of the Year (Sponsored by ARC Training): Thomas Murray

Premier League/BT Inclusion Participant of the Year (Sponsored by JAGA Training): Billy Allen

Secondary Education Participant of the Year (Sponsored by Mi-Space): Harry Piekut

Premier League Girls Participant of the Year (Sponsored by Cwm Wanderers AFC): Niamh Thomas

Sign Up To Success Participant of the Year (Sponsored by EE): Darren Hedges

Premier League Primary Stars Primary School of the Year (Sponsored by E.G. Lewis Group): Mary Immaculate V.R.C. Primary School

Premier League/BT Inclusion Community Programme of the Year (Sponsored by ARC Training): Get Out Get Active Walking Football

Premier League Kicks Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by JAGA Training): Robert Howell

Secondary Education Secondary School of the Year (Sponsored by Mi-Space): Llangatwg Community School

Sign Up To Success Special Recognition Award (Sponsored by Swansea City AFC): Helen Hughes